We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad easter monday”
Review of AquaTerra

AquaTerra
Reserve with OpenTable
AquaTerra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 429 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Description: On the Waterfront in Downtown Kingston. Located at the Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront, AquaTerra offers spectacular waterfront views and a menu that focuses upon fresh, locally sourced ingredients. Extensive wine list. Private and semi-private dining. Planning a special dinner or event? We cater offering drop-offs, pick-up or full service at the location of your choice. Make a reservation or buy a gift certificate on our website. See you on the water!
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad easter monday”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Went to celebrate my wife's birthday at the Aqua Terra temporary location. No one in the restaurant except for us and the food warmed over and little choice for the low price of $30 per person. While we've always liked Aqua Terra this was a terrible experience for the occasion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LYNE514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at AquaTerra, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We appreciate your comments and we understand that while we are operating out of our temporary location, the dining experience is different than what many of our loyal customers have come to expect from AquaTerra. For dinner, we offer a buffet as well as a prix fixe menu but not the usual full menu or table d’hôte options. Our standards, however, for food quality and service remain exceptionally high and we are proud of every dish that is served. On behalf of everyone here at AquaTerra we value your continued involvement in our restaurant and hope you will be back to dine with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    141
    55
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“waterfront seafood restaurant”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

pricey but great menu and an ok location- part of the hotel district on the waterfront- your lucky to get a parking place nearby, but within walking distance of the major king street hot spots, menu is good food is well prepared, clean venue but pricey

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at AquaTerra, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our restaurant is located in the heart of downtown Kingston right on the harbour. Because we share our property with a hotel, our guests may use the hotel parking facilities free of charge. This lot is conveniently located right outside of our doors. We are very please to know that you loved our menu selection and cuisine and we hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIngston, Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't let the hotel turn you off....”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I'm always a bit nervous about restaurants in hotels. They tend to be over-priced and often not very good. Aqua Terra is in a hotel. That might turn you off. The walk through a dreary parking garage might also turn you off. But the food won't. The service is excellent, the food fantastic and the view awesome. When I want to take out of town friends to a great restaurant I always come back to Aqua Terra for the quality of the food, ambiance and service.

You'll find better patios and more 'Kingston' like atmosphere (Chez Piggy) but the food here is in its own class. Go there. You won't regret it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at AquaTerra, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are very happy to hear that you enjoy our restaurant so much and we truly appreciate this sincere recommendation. Thank you for being such a loyal customer of ours. We are so glad that you have never been disappointed by the food, service, or ambiance. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Best Salmon I've Ever Had.”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We chose to go to this restaurant because it was in our hotel and we were given a $50 restaurant voucher.

Due to our activities throughout the day, we didn't get back to the hotel until fairly late in the evening, but decided to hit up the restaurant anyway. From the second we walked in the door, we were given absolutely incredible service. Our server (I think it may have been the bar manager if I remember correctly) was very efficient and thorough, always making sure we were satisfied and never leaving our glasses empty - which seems to be rare these days. I ordered their salmon dish and it was literally the most delicious salmon I have ever had. It was candied around the edges and perfectly cooked.

At the end of the meal, they serve you gorgeous stamped chocolates, which is a very nice touch in comparison with the regular candies that most restaurants give.

I wish I'd written my review sooner so that the details were more fresh in my mind but I can say with full confidence that I'd absolutely return to this restaurant and I whole-heartedly recommend it to everyone!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyAwesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at AquaTerra, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Better late than never! Thank you for sharing this outstanding review. We are thrilled to read your comments about the delicious salmon you enjoyed and also about the wonderful service you received. We certainly hope you will return to dine with us again and we appreciate your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous dining in Kingston”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Recently dined here, just prior to their planned renovations. Service was excellent, food was excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debby68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at AquaTerra, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. Our main level dining room is currently undergoing a makeover so we have moved up to the 6th floor. Our food and service remain as excellent as ever but the views may have actually improved. We’d love for you to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AquaTerra also viewed

 

Been to AquaTerra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing