We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and drinks!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Iron Duke

The Iron Duke
Ranked #63 of 424 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Canadian, American, Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and drinks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

When there with my boyfriend after work on a Friday night. I had the Ruben sandwich with fries and he had the shepherd's pie. They were both delicious and reasonably priced. A good selection of drinks as well. I will defiantly go back again!

Helpful?
Thank CdnFarmGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    34
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

My fiance and I went to the Iron Duke for some wings and beer for date night while we were visiting Kingston. While it was fairly late when we arrived Sunday evening, we were greeted warmly by the bartender and promptly directed to a booth, where our server came to welcome us.

The food and drinks were delicious, and the server was very attentive and always smiling. We ordered a large fry each, and were surprised by the amount we received... the portion was HUGE!

We simply loved our experience at the Duke and would highly recommend this restaurant for those who are on a date, with friends, or anyone who wants to eat delicious food. This place offers fantastic customer service, great bang for your buck, and a great atmosphere to relax.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mellee168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great beer variety, delicious late night food options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I went here a few nights ago with friends after reading the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. 17 beers on tap from what I recall with a few varieties that can't be easily found in the city. I ordered chicken fingers tossed in the Canadian BBQ sauce. Huge portion - very tasty. My buddies got wings and commented they were some of the best wings in Kingston. Friendly waiter. Great vibe. Will definitely be coming back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
“Specials Are Always Great!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I posted this review in August on Urban Spoon, but as I just joined TripAdvisor, I thought it belonged here as well...

My husband and I visit the duke a couple of times a month, usually for dinner and drinks on Friday nights. My husband always sticks with the Cheesesteak sandwich. He claims there's no way anything is going to be better than that sandwich, so why bother trying anything else. I usually try the daily specials, and so far I haven't been let down. This past Friday it was a blackened chicken breast on potatoes and asparagus with blue cheese sauce. Absolutely to die for. Can't wait to see what's in store for my next visit! Service is always prompt and friendly. This is one of our favorite spots in town!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfort food away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the outside you might keep walking, but it would be a mistake. The food is delicious and extremely reasonably priced. A beer (their own name) and a 1/2 reuben and daily soup cost around $14 with tax, and it was extremely filling.

The reuben was so good, I wanted to go back the next night for the other half. They use locally sourced ingredients, which makes it even better to know you are eating "locally".

Service was very unassuming and friendly. The patio was a welcome stop on a warm evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanMfromOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Iron Duke also viewed

 
Kingston, Ontario
 

Been to The Iron Duke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing