We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home made pasta at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pasta Shelf

Pasta Shelf
Ranked #99 of 428 Restaurants in Kingston
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Home made pasta at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Every year I travel to Kingston to judge sailing events at CORK. I have a list of restaurants that the judges visit and the pasta shelf is at the very top of the list. The home made pasta, fresh sauces, great sized portions that a couple can share and walk away satisfied. This restaurant will be always at the top of my list.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    16
    13
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding pasta and sauces!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

A fantastic takeout with gorgeous pasta and sauces, also ready made casseroles to take home and bake. A wonderful help to busy hosts. You can eat in as well though nothing special about the atmosphere....though same fantastic food!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank UltraClean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINGSTON
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great wood oven pizzas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

I love the wood oven pizzas at Pasta Shelf. Just like the ones in Italy when I was on holidays. The ingredients are fresh and the service is fast and friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GLENN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tour of Italy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

On my way home from work I dropped into the Pasta Shelf to pick up some takeout. I decided on their Tour of Italy which contains chicken parmigiana, cheese cannelloni and spaghetti with meat balls. Big mistake. The pasta was over cooked to the point it was mushy and the chicken parm, well what can I say, it was like a piece of cardboard. One bite and it went in the garbage. As a matter of fact I spit it out as I didn't know what it was because it didn't remotely resemble chicken. I usually try and say something positive about a restaurant. The sauces were not too bad. I will say the service was friendly but the food was horrendous. Won't be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I am always disappointed with my meal. I have eaten there twice. The meatballs do not taste homemade, the salad is never fresh and the food is bland. I love Italian food, but this is not the homemade Italian food that I hoped for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spicegirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasta Shelf also viewed

 
Kingston, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
 

Been to Pasta Shelf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing