We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too refined”

River Mill Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 429 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner Harbour
Description: Delicious lunches and dinners served served in an elegant dining room overlooking the Cataraqui River. Chef Gurkhan is of Turkish descent and his Mediterranean menus are influenced by the cuisines of Tunisia and Morocco as well as by his native Turkey.
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 832 helpful votes
“too refined”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

To be honest, I haven't eaten at The River Mill in quite some time. Not only because it is not within my dining out budget, but because it is simply TOO intimate a restaurant. One must whisper when one talks. Lovely yes. Good food yes. But relaxing? Not at all. Just a little too fancy pants & refined for my taste........

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    29
    14
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Year's Eve Family Dinner”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our New Year's Eve family dinner outing. There were 6 of us ranging in age from 11 to 87 and we were getting together to enjoy a nice meal at this well established and traditional Kingston eatery, a long-time favourite location of the more senior members of the group. A prix fixe meal was on offer this night for $68 which included duck breast flambé with orange sauce as a main course selection. Most of our group elected to give this a try based on the description in the menu. Our 11 year old required an alternate choice not on the menu which was a pasta dish. This turned out to be under cooked. A palate cleanser was offered consisting of a bit of salad with some balsamic vinegar. The duck breast was in a word awful - as universally acknowledged by all 4 who partook of it. It was tough, rubbery, and tasteless with no sign of flambe or orange. The waitress who did her job as well as you would expect at any roadside dinner, that is she noted most orders down correctly but offered zero insight into the bill of fare, was apologetic when we expressed our disfavour. The manager only said that the recipe had been tested. You got the sense that restaurant staff were on automatic pilot and not prepared to listen, they did not appear to put the customer first. The atmosphere was old world, conservative, with a piano player who played too loud and not all that well. Kingston needs to find another most elegant restaurant because this isn't it. We won't be going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zedbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherstview, on
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Double Date Night”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The ambiance is fantastic with beautiful views of the water. We started with the Ceaser Salad table side for two. It was enjoyable to have it made at the table. I ordered bacon wrapped scallops served with hazelnuts over mushroom risotto in a ginger orange glaze. When it arrived it was very different. It was scallops with pine nuts on risotto. No one mentioned the substitution of most ingredients. Everyone else received what they ordered. I had creme brulee for dessert. It was very good except for the defrosted strawberries on top. They were soggy and it was almost offensive they would use frozen fruits to decorate. I would have taken any fresh fruit garnish over that. I called the next day and spoke with the owner to voice my concerns. He was unaware of the substitutions. He mentioned the menu was under review and would be a new one in a few weeks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fine Dining Experience”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Elegant service, atmosphere and decor. I love the view of the waterway (of course, more visible in the spring/summer/fall months) quite possibly the best view of any restaurant in Kingston. The service is attentive yet unobtrusive. The decor is elegant and refined. The food is very tasty, although not massive portions (as with most higher end restaurants..it's about quality not quantity). It is a peaceful atmosphere, so I wouldn't recommend the main dining room for a boisterous party, or group of children who have difficulty sitting quietly for periods of time. Ideal for a couple, or adult get-togethers. The food is not cheap, but if you are looking for an intimate evening out, this is the place!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mastersonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Group Christmas Dinner”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A wonderful setting for a group gathering. I have been told about the River Mill for a few months and had been hoping to get there. I was a guest of a wonderful group of people and enjoyed a fantastic dining experience with 90 people. For this experience, the setting wasn't quiet as it was a Group Christmas dinner, however, the food was great and the service phenomenal. Trying to serve 90 people all at the same time with piping hot food? They did it and did it well. I would go back for the intimate dinner with my husband and I am looking forward to it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlJ0sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Mill Restaurant also viewed

 
Kingston, Ontario
 
Kingston, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
 

Been to River Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing