We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kingston's Best”

Grecos Grill & Wine Bar
Ranked #2 of 429 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
“Kingston's Best”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Once a week for over 12 years, Grecos was the very best time spent with my mother, we were welcomed with open arms by Jimmy, Gus and the staff. Excellent, consistent, generous helpings. Fresh ingredients, all at very good value. The waiters know the menu well and are always willing to please. Greek, Mediterranean and Canadian dishes, there is something for everyone. Mom has passed on but her weekly visits to Grecos kept her going to 99 years young, all thanks to Jimmy Kofinis, God Bless!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    919
    216
    65
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
“U gotta eat here :)”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Been going to this restaurant for 20 years .Same owners there every day .great food great value .thats why this place is so great . They run a great place .u have to try this place if your in Kingston .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abrahah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Christmas Dinner Party”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I was recently invited to my spouse's annual Christmas Dinner Party at this location - the staff decided to return for a second time as last year was fabulous. Unfortunately this year was not quite the same. We were a group of 16 people, the service was very good, but extremely slow. My spouse and I both ordered the lamb shanks as they were part of the evening's special. Although they were very tender, they lacked spice and taste basically and steamed lamb shank best describes the dish, the side of 2 wedges of roasted potato with carrots and zucchini (which was mush) were not memorable. My dinner was barely warm at best - but I was starving by the time the meal arrived.

This may have been an off nite for this establishment as the food is usually exceptional.

We were supposed to be a group of 20 and 2 couples did not show - the manager rudely commented to my spouse about this which was a little out of line - he did not need to be loud or confrontational - I understand that the restaurant is busy - my spouse simply said no problem you can remove the table on the end so you can accommodate other patrons - he simply walked off in a huff - our waiter promptly came and reconfigured the other table which was not used all nite. Our dinner reservation was for 6:00 pm.

There was a table of 8 patrons that seemed to be a priority - the waiters kept gathering and bringing out several dishes throughout the evening - it may have been a special occasion as the wine and "OPA" was consistently repeated everytime they approached the table - which might be why the wait was so long - This can be accpetable but management should realize there are other patrons as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Copper15_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Kingston Treasure”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This review is long overdue for my favourite restaurant in Kingston and my favourite greek restaurant anywhere in Canada. The food is delicious and menu is well chosen. The service is impeccable, most notable is Norm. You cannot go wrong with an evening at Greco's!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“45 Years of Great Food”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I have been eating at this location for 45 years. It has transitioned from the Tropicana to Costellos and then to Grecos. All under the gracious hosting of Gus Kofinis and his family.
Through the transitions the quality of the food has been excellent and continues to put a smile on my face and satiates the culinary demands of my stomach. Lots of Ah Ha moments!

For this particular lunch I had the Beef Tenderloin Tips. Tender in a delicious sauce with great flavour! and cooked perfectly. Started off with a very tasty Cream of Potato soup.

What a great combination.... the gracious welcoming of Gus, Jimmy and their friendly staff along with the great food offerings. Gus and now Jimmy have quietly been the unsung heroes of the Kingston culinary scene with their excellent food. The sauces,the bases, the dressings, the soups etc. have been developed over the years and are "made from scratch". Fresh and Delicious! This leads into some of the best Meat and Pasta Entrées in the city and at Great Value!
Try it.... you'll love it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsimmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grecos Grill & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Grecos Grill & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing