We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FABULOUS”

Grecos Grill & Wine Bar
Ranked #3 of 429 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek, Wine Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

While traveling to Kingston on business, I took a party of 8 people to Greco's on Princess St. Starting with the professional waiter who pointed-out all the specials for the evening and some of the best wines both red & white, we left completely satisfied and my guest were enthusiastic how an out-of-towner could find such a great restaurant in their city. Thank you Jimmy the owner for making our evening so special.. We'll see you our next time in Kingston. Jack Julian Oakville, ON.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jack j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    905
    212
    65
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Even better than the first visit . Amazing squid ,perfect mussels and great Opa cheese.Great mains too veal chop and my partner had the fish of the day .cooked perfect! Just love this place .Just a great restaurant .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellford, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great service, but the food was only okay”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were overwhelmed by the service, but after reading the other reviews of this popular restaurant we were a bit disappointed by the food.
The staff here were attentive and efficient. Our waiter was personable and always available to us, no matter what else he was doing.
The wine list was fine, but the selection of wines by the glass was limited.
We were underwhelmed by the food: our caesar salad was soggy; my rack of lamb was dry and overcooked; my partner's filet of sole was breaded and fried, not sautéed as the menu claimed.
We were disappointed by our experience at Grecos, but we're prepared to try it again when we return to Kingston.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank petercam56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Best Greek food in town, don't search any further. The portions are enormous, definitely leftovers the next day...and still delicious.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieP853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Their excellence has made them arrogant”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

For all the obvious reasons, Greco's has been one of my favourite restaurants for years and a common place to go for celebrations. My son came from out of town this past weekend to celebrate my birthday. Knowing how popular the place would be on a Saturday night we booked reservations for 5 people well in advance, and even changed the time we wanted at the restaurant's request. When we arrived our party of 5 was crammed into a table for 4 with one of us seated at the end of the table sticking out in the only passage the serving staff had to walk - and not surprisingly, the staff kept bumping her in the back of the head and one nearly clocked her in the face with a pot of hot coffee. Our request for more appropriate seating was answered with rudeness and indifference. There were at least two tables for four with only two diners sitting at them and when we asked to be located to a larger table that had just come available they instead brought a table from the kitchen and tried to jam it beside the already too small table. The size of the table wasn't as much of a problem as sitting in the middle of the wait staff traffic was. We left and went somewhere with a much nicer atmosphere, great service, and where our patronage was demonstrably appreciated. Greco's has great food for sure but being popular seems to have made them feel that they can treat clients poorly. This really put a damper on a special occasion. Why on earth didn't they just decline the reservation?

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank janysse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grecos Grill & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Kingston, Ontario
 

Been to Grecos Grill & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing