We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bang for the buck”
Review of TA KE sushi

TA KE sushi
Ranked #117 of 429 Restaurants in Kingston
Price range: $11 - $19
Cuisines: Japanese, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Description: Longest running Japanese-Korean Restaurant in Kingston, Ontario.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good bang for the buck”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stopped in for lunch on a cold and blustery day. Hot tea served immediately to warm us up. All meals were large, fresh and nicely presented. While the sashimi was very fresh, it was poorly cut which made some of the pieces inedible. Tempura was pale and greasy - upping the temperature of the deep fryer would probably help. Overall, the food was average but plentiful and the service was great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great little place”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My fiancee discovered this place while on a visit to Kingston with her family.It was her birthday last week and she said she would love to go for sushi so we went after all it is her birthday.this place is or must be a family business all the staff welcome you with a big smile even the sushi chefs we sat at the sushi bar and had a great time with the chefs even if they don't speak much english.We had mostly sashimi but a few rolls also,everything was fresh and very nicely prepared.great service and price .Try it you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan Pablo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mmmm good stuff”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Whether you get take out or eat in ,the food is tasty and very fresh, and service was good .We were there when the restaurant first opened up and they were good from the start.Good selection Maki platter is out of this world!!!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tpcsawgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good sushi, expensive lesson”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Let me preface by saying, the food was good, the service was quick and pleasant, the portions are generous and the selection was extensive. Two of us ordered 2 miso soup, edamame, agedashi tofu, 2 california rolls, a red dragon roll and spicy tuna roll. This was waaaaay too much food and it was reflected in the price. $66! But, the only thing I would change was the age dashi. It was more like tempura tofu with a sweet teriyaki sauce than the age dashi I am used to. Next time, I will order one of the less expensive combos rather than a la carte. Highlights included: getting my sashimi on a little wooden boat and being served a fancy sliced apple/orange for dessert.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roshalau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous.”
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Loved it!! We ate the California lunch special and it was great!! 10$ for 12 rolls, soup, salad, potatoe, noodles and wasabi. It was ssoooo good and the service was nice and laid back. Going back tomorrow!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Izabella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TA KE sushi also viewed

 

Been to TA KE sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing