We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sushi, expensive lesson”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of TA KE sushi

TA KE sushi
Ranked #129 of 428 Restaurants in Kingston
Price range: $11 - $19
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Description: Longest running Japanese-Korean Restaurant in Kingston, Ontario.
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good sushi, expensive lesson”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Let me preface by saying, the food was good, the service was quick and pleasant, the portions are generous and the selection was extensive. Two of us ordered 2 miso soup, edamame, agedashi tofu, 2 california rolls, a red dragon roll and spicy tuna roll. This was waaaaay too much food and it was reflected in the price. $66! But, the only thing I would change was the age dashi. It was more like tempura tofu with a sweet teriyaki sauce than the age dashi I am used to. Next time, I will order one of the less expensive combos rather than a la carte. Highlights included: getting my sashimi on a little wooden boat and being served a fancy sliced apple/orange for dessert.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roshalau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous.”
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Loved it!! We ate the California lunch special and it was great!! 10$ for 12 rolls, soup, salad, potatoe, noodles and wasabi. It was ssoooo good and the service was nice and laid back. Going back tomorrow!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Izabella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of the Better Sushie Places”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I would say this is the second best Sushie place in Kingston, but its location has an advantage over the better of the two

Helpful?
1 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Found the best sushi in Kingston”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We dropped into this restaurant because we frequent one with the same name in Charlottetown. Found out they are not directly related (the former owner in Kingston moved to Charlottetown and opened with the same name) but the food is of the same high caliber. The spicy tempura salmon is now my favorite sushi of all time!!! Nice job Sam, your food is very good. We found the lunch and supper specials to be great deals with everything included from only $9. We went back a few days later with two tired and bored grandkids and Sam and his staff were excellent interacting with them and helping out with keeping them entertained.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snowbird1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Bland”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Food was ok. Price was decent. Didn't have very much taste to the food. Would try another sushi place in town the next time.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Velbowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TA KE sushi also viewed

 
Kingston, Ontario
 

Been to TA KE sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing