We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend a Bank Loan first”
Review of Pan Chancho

Pan Chancho
Ranked #1 of 9 Bakeries in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Description: Pan Chancho is a bakery and cafe that makes everything in house. In addition to our baked goods and sit down menu items, we have a large selection of salads, sandwiches and main courses available to go. Our kitchens make a variety of ready for the oven frozen goods, and we carry a wide selection of imported and local cheeses, groceries and home-made pantry items for our customers.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The wares in this bakery look mouth-watering and diet busting, to say the least. But, they are expensive. So if you are on a budget, you may want to take a pass.

Thank davidgunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy m, Pastry Chef at Pan Chancho, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you think our baked goods are mouthwatering! We like to think they taste as good as they look. All our products are made in house, often using labour intensive techniques that require the work of a highly skilled, well trained and dedicated staff. We use butter exclusively in their production, and as with many of our other ingredients, this butter is locally produced. Maintaining a commitment to using only high quality ingredients in a bakery dedicated to scratch production is an expensive endeavour; we hope our customers recognize that the cost of shopping at Pan Chancho Bakery is reflected in quality of the food they receive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 403 of 649 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had breakfast at their patio. The choices were interesting - not the standard breakfast fare.
I had a salad with croutons and an egg - a delicious way to have greens in the morning.
The bakery has a huge selection and everything is made on site. They start baking at 2 am and have an overnight staff of 7. ( I asked!) Friendly servers and a nice atmosphere. The patio is not on the street which is nice too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy m, Pastry Chef at Pan Chancho, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

We're pleased Pan Chancho was such a fun part of your visit to Kingston. Thank you for taking the time to send in your comments. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

In the summer, the patio of Pan Chancho is superb: It's away from the street, it has plenty of tables with umbrellas, it's shady, and it's comfortable.

The service, however, ranges from merely competent to outright truculent. I'm not sure why Pan Chancho hires so many servers who like to give the impression that you are fortunate to have them wait on you. But it does. The rare server who is genuinely helpful and not (apparently) stuck-up is rare.

The food varies. The store side of Pan Chancho provides a wonderful selection of breads, cheeses, salads, spreads, dips, and desserts. Sadly, the menu of the cafe does not always showcase these wonders. To P.C.'s credit, the menu seems to change frequently, so if you don't like what's served in June, you can come back in August and maybe find something different. The specials are also--often--good. But the dishes on the menu are very pricy, and you don't always get good value.

Most recently I had a salad of grilled vegetables and frisee that sounded better than it tasted. The frisee was bitter and boring; the grilled vegetables consisted mostly of bell peppers.

I now am wondering whether it's really worthwhile to pay so much to sit in a delightful environment--and then have iffy service and unpredictable food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Introvertica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy m, Pastry Chef at Pan Chancho, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Thanks for your thorough comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Pan Chancho is one of my favourite Restaurants in Kingston. The food is always fresh and delicious. Highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy m, Pastry Chef at Pan Chancho, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Thanks for your feedback, and for taking the time to let us know what you think. We're very happy to be one of your favourite places in Kingston! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The food was not good and it was way too expensive! Also the service was terrible, it took 45 minutes to get our plates which consisted in 2 salads and 2 burgers (nothing that takes that long to cook). The server was not cordial at all. It's not somewhere i would go again!

2  Thank Dominique N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy m, Pastry Chef at Pan Chancho, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience when you were dining with us. I'll be sure to raise your concerns with the cafe manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pan Chancho also viewed

Kingston, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
 

Been to Pan Chancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing