We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savoury Bakery - now with some Gluten-free”
Review of Pan Chancho

Pan Chancho
Ranked #1 of 8 Bakeries in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Description: Pan Chancho is a bakery and cafe that makes everything in house. In addition to our baked goods and sit down menu items, we have a large selection of salads, sandwiches and main courses available to go. Our kitchens make a variety of ready for the oven frozen goods, and we carry a wide selection of imported and local cheeses, groceries and home-made pantry items for our customers.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Savoury Bakery - now with some Gluten-free”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

The bakery is outstanding for breads and rolls. Be adventurous for the greatest rewards.
There is a lemon currant roll with cinnamon that is reason enough to make a trip. Large enough to serve three people, get your own. But please don't take the last one. Leave it for me.
New ! Gluten free pumpernickel bread first thing on weekdays. Sold out by 11! Call and reserve.

Thee bistro however has to get their gluten-free act together. (They'll make a delicious sandwich gluten-free, but you'll have to buy the bread yourself first from the bakery. WHAT? )

Still, the bakery has made great GF advancements. GF scone of the day and more. Gluten lovers already know how great artisanal bread can be. Now others can too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    192
    39
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“delicious take-out sandwiches”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

In summer you can take out a really good sandwich from the store section at the front and eat it outside somewhere, such as the tab tables in the market square. Love the curried chicken and the roast beef with horseradish. (Tried the lemon cinnamon bun and it was not as fantastic.)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shenatoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Definitely has lost it's edge”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

There was a time when this establishment was a must go to. Unfortunately not anymore. Went today ( Aug 25th) with three friends for breakfast. Coffee was dish water, one had hot chocolate and did not drink it as it was so weak and lacking in flavor. Service was sketchy at best. Ten minute wait to get coffee and fifty minutes to get our breakfast. When breakfast arrived one was cold. Flavor overall was rated as not great but not bad. Time to search out a new go to place for breakfast when visiting Kingston.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast on the patio”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Every time we go to Kingston we have breakfast here. The French toast is wonderful and this time we ordered a side of sausage. It was a delicious compliment to the French toast.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Fabulous Sunday Brunch.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have been to Pan Chancho countless times, but somehow we had never tried their Sunday Brunch until last week. What a fabulous treat!

I can see how somebody not willing to try new things would not enjoy Pan Chancho, as their combinations tend to be out of the ordinary, which is exactly why we love it so much. Our favourite last Sunday was called sweet potato hash and consisted of eggs poached over herb bread and grilled vegetables - it was the best breakfast dish EVER. The apple bread French toast never disappoints and easily fills two hungry stomachs, and the i-scream with corn ice cream and grilled shrimp provided our meal with some spice. We love a good brunch, and Pan Chancho makes one of the best ever.

If exotic combinations for brunch are not your thing, you can always just grab a melt-in-your-mouth pastry or some sugar cookies (the BEST) and a latte. Either way, a visit to Pan Chancho is a must when in Kingston!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bringing_the_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pan Chancho also viewed

Kingston, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
 

Been to Pan Chancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing