We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Homemade Pies”
Review of Pan Chancho

Pan Chancho
Ranked #1 of 8 Bakeries in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Description: Pan Chancho is a bakery and cafe that makes everything in house. In addition to our baked goods and sit down menu items, we have a large selection of salads, sandwiches and main courses available to go. Our kitchens make a variety of ready for the oven frozen goods, and we carry a wide selection of imported and local cheeses, groceries and home-made pantry items for our customers.
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Homemade Pies”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The fresh baked pies to go are above exceptional as are the breads and sandwiches. It is not cheap but it is good. Staff however are not friendly and never smile. It is like you are bothering them. Younger part time girls are better but older women are as friendly as a rotweiler with rabies. That makes this place a take out experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vegasguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    186
    38
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
syracuse
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Incredible bakery!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had these maple cake things that blew my mind, I couldn't stop eating them! The bread was some of the best I have ever had, unique little shop, will be back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ptirvine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Very good for lunch”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

For a good soup and sandwich style lunch, the restaurant at the back of this bakery/prepared meals shop is excellent value. I've now been there three or four times and never been disappointed. Ingredients are fresh and of good quality, the menu has an imaginative variety of dishes (something for every taste), service is amiable and efficient, and the decor attractive for the kind of informal place that it is. If you're travelling along the 401 and want somewhere other than the dreaded "On Route" service centres to stop for lunch, this is well worth the detour into Kingston.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel1000Glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“If Chez Piggy isn't open, this is their sister place”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were too early to eat at Chez Piggy so they suggested we give their sister restaurant a try, which we did.

It is a bakery/food take out in the front but a little sit down restaurant in the back. Very nice.

We ordered from their breakfast menu. I had the smoked salmon with fennel cream cheese and they substituted a gluten free scone for the regular bread -- delicious! My daughter ordered the breakfast wrap that was chock full of excellent taste sensations.

We ordered some desserts to go -- I had a couple of French macarons; my daughter ordered the chocolate bomb cake; both were great.

A nice place to stop for a bite or to get yummy foods for home. We'll be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mel1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great little spot”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great little spot for breakfast. Patio is nice, lots of great items in the bakery (smells great). Friendly staff and good food (we had the egg and cheese croissant, excellent). Very close walk from our hotel, we stayed at the Four Points Sheraton.

Safe travels.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pan Chancho also viewed

Kingston, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
 
Kingston, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
 

Been to Pan Chancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing