We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old standby for quality Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Darbar Restaurant

Darbar Restaurant
Ranked #113 of 428 Restaurants in Kingston
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Description: Darbar is an intimate experience providing spiced-to-order Indian fare, specializing in tandoori & vegetarian dishes. Darbar uses only the freshest ingredients, and chooses organic ingredients whenever possible. We offer takeout and delivery within Kingston.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Old standby for quality Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have been going to Darbar for years because they do everything right except that they bring all the food to the table at the same time.
Good choice of vegetarian dishes. Lots of lamb and chicken with seemingly home made sauces, nicely spiced. I am never disappointed

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ricky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    14
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great food good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

this restaurant is consistent every time i go. The dinner for 2 is huge and a great affordable way to try several items. Best butter chicken in town

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bonnie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Most fine Indian cuisine in Kingston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I praised Darbar in my last review of this restaurant. That was a while ago. Since then my wife and I have lunched and dined there at least three times a month - it is our favourite place to eat out in Kingston. The cuisine is my favourite and I've been eating Indian foods since 1967 in London, Dublin and Montreal - Darbar is consistently the best food of all the marvellous places I've dined in - bar none.
Ashok and his brother, the chef, and Mahfuz, the waiter, are friendly and fast. There are never any delays with no matter what dish I order when the place is busy and when it's quiet. They make ALL their own sauces, drinks and desserts - quite apart from the authenticity of the entrees - lasse, bahrfi, mango ice cream, cucumber raitha... all fresh.
They mix a chili sauce that is proprietory - green chilis, fiery a little dab will do you.
My favourite used to be Beef Madras (strength - medium) but, lately, my wife and I have shifted to a longing for Chef's Methi Ghost! Subtle, brilliantly spiced , tender beef and fresh tomatoes, a thick gravy. Instead of a plate of Basmati rice we order a garlic Nan bread and scoop the Methi Ghost up with steaming pieces of that lovely tandoori oven roasted bread. We don`t drink anything but water with the meal. We relax after the piece de resistance with a khulfi ( Mango ice cream). If it`s dinner hour we are given a chocolate mint stick when we pay the bill!
This place deserves more than a few lines saying it`s terrific. That is why I wanted to say more here.
The decor could do with a boost but he is keeping his costs down - we never pay more than $40 - $50 for two including tip. Prices have increased only by 5% since I first dined there three years ago.
Tell Ashok or Mahfuz that Patrick and Hermien sent you!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dailyllama m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tastiest Indian Food in Kingston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

...not the classiest interior (Curry Original gets that one), but the best and tastiest Indian food in the city. Go for the Darbar rice - aromatic and great tasting. Butter chicken is one of our staples there, as is the Saag Mattar Paneer. Attentive staff and low-keyed ambiance are a plus too! We also get take-out from here frequently. Note: parking is only available on the street out front, but it isn't *usually* hard to get a spot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
388 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food, fresh ingredients, no grease”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Excellent chicken Jalfrezi, fresh hot naan, hand made vegetable samosas with fresh chunky vegetables and potato inside. The dishes were not greasy at all. My colleagues had vegetarian dishes that were quite good, too. Three entrees, several bread and rice sides and two orders of samosas cost $60.

This was way better than average Indian food and ranks pretty high in my book of Indian favorites. Highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Danield528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darbar Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Darbar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing