We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian cuisine!”
Review of Darbar Restaurant

Darbar Restaurant
Ranked #113 of 429 Restaurants in Kingston
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Description: Darbar is an intimate experience providing spiced-to-order Indian fare, specializing in tandoori & vegetarian dishes. Darbar uses only the freshest ingredients, and chooses organic ingredients whenever possible. We offer takeout and delivery within Kingston.
Belleville, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian cuisine!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Although the servers sometimes come off rather serious, but not rude, the food is just delicious; they can suggest dishes if you are unfamiliar and the fare is served according to how spicy you like or can handle. Hot MEANS hot at the Darbar! Never been disappointed. We drive 45 minutes there and back to enjoy their food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clockworkplum11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    15
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brampton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An average Indian restaurant in the city - Non authentic”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Certainly a non authentic Indian restaurant in the city. Biryani order was overdone and full of ghee, Raita was promised to accompany with Birayni, but later on denied saying it was chargeable ... Disappointing
Naan was good, but lighlty done....Mixed vegeatble is always supposed to be dry, but to our suprise it was served in the gravy.

Servers had a blank face with no signs of hospitality and even a smile...looked like they are forced to do their jobs...

Overall, a poor restaurant experience

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Handsome_Heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average in a city of good Indian restaurants”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This place is pretty good, but hard to rate harder ina city of some great Indian Restaurants

Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“One of many great restaurant choices”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Kingston has so many fine restaurants that it can often be difficult to choose one for dinner. We recently celebrated our 32 anniversary here and as always the Indian food was outstanding. The decor is tasteful and not overdone. The service attentive without being pushy. I just can't say enough good things about this restaurant.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank highbrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food in Kingston. Tried other Indian restaurants but nothing compares to Darbar.”
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Excellent food that is very healthy and delicious. Friendly and attentive service. Atmosphere unique. Takeout and delivery is also excellent but not cheap. They always get the order right. I know they make the food fresh at the time food is ordered, so I don't mind the wait. There are Indian restaurants closer to my home but I have tried and prefer Darbar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Athena1111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darbar Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Darbar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing