We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but no atmosphere”
Review of Little Saigon - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Little Saigon
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Cambodian, Thai, Vietnamese
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
UK
Level Contributor
209 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good value but no atmosphere”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Ate here twice. Spring rolls were tasty and crisp. Curries are cheap and portions are reasonable. For a quick cheap meal not a bad place to go but no atmosphere. We were only people there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThurlbyReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My favourite place in Kingston!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I always take the non-fried pork spring roll and the chicken coconut lime soup, I love it! I walk all the way there just to eat that because its not expensive, its delicious, healthy, service is great and the atmosphere is calm and relaxing! I will keep going for sure!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeSand55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering Spring Rolls..”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

..and when I say mouthwatering I mean I start to drool the minute I think of them. I have searched in vain, high and low in the rest of North America for spring rolls that are as crunchy and delicious as the pork spring rolls at Little Saigon.

Little Saigon was where I went for lunch or dinner during university when I was homesick, for the incredibly good food and the excellent service from the wonderful family that runs the restaurant. Despite all of Kingston's other incredible high end restaurants, I always make it a point to return to Little Saigon when I visit!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is one of those places that are decorated in a way to make you hesitate, but that is the part of the charm of it. The family is always very pleasant, the food is consistently good quality, the prices are reasonable, and you don't have to wait long for your order.

The dishes are described in the menu (no cheesy photos). They are flexible, so if you prefer rice to vermicelli or mild to spicy, simply ask for it.

I've brought friends here who don't usually have a taste for Vietnamese cuisine but readily return when I suggest it. The spring rolls alone keep them salivating. Don't pass by without stopping once. You will return. :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cind333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
165 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“My fave:)”
Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Have eaten here for close to 7 years now and have never ever been disappointed:)
#57 has remained the number that I crave the most, and I ask for it extra spicy:)
The staff are always so friendly and welcoming and I can't wait to go again lol!
Yummy
Much thanks!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bubblymakesmesmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Saigon also viewed

Kingston, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing