We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful, just awful ...... don't go there!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luke's Gastronomy - CLOSED

Luke's Gastronomy
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awful, just awful ...... don't go there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Awful, just awful .... the place is extremely grubby and had a musty, unpleasant smell, The attitude of the waitress was utterly unwelcoming even though we were to be the only diners. Walls decorations were tasteless amateurish daubs. Tables were separated by floor to ceiling offwhite hangings with all the look and appeal of slightly used bandages.

So ... not a great ambiance then but surely the food makes up for this ? Well ... some interesting flavours, here and there, in minute propertions but you have to be exceptionally pretentious to wax lyrical about a massive overdose of mint in one dish or a topping of potent pepper in another that all but killed my taste buds for the next few hours. Fun to read the classic pretention shown in some of the positive comments here implying that '.... you plebians do not have the taste, culture or sensitivity to appreciate the food at Lukes'. Maybe not, but I have the taste, sensitivity and culture to recognise brutal overseasoning when I am assaulted by it.

Any positives? Well, if you've recently completed an anger management course then Lukes is the ideal place to test the results when you take in the $12 + tax they charge for a mouthful or two of very ordinary Merlot.

We didn't leave the surly waitress a tip but we will leave readers of this review with one - DON'T GO THERE !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JimCennen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    5
    8
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kingston
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“How is this place still in business?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

To be fair, the experience was absolutely horrible. The lone waitress (who happens to be Luke's mother) wasn't as rude as others have indicated however, the service was still less than stellar. The atmosphere was horrible, it was dark, dirty and the hygiene of the place is questionable. The food was incredibly over priced and of poor value. I feel the the majority of positive reviews take pity on the fact the "chef" is a kid. This "restaurant" is perpetually on groupon as there is no traffic whatsoever. STAY AWAY

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank michaeldalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Interesting experience but would probably not go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Each table is surrounded by walls of muslin cloth giving you the feeling of being in your own dining room which is great. The food was very ingenious but not very substantial. Although we did not feel hungry at the end we did so 2 hours later. The place is a little too expensive to feel that.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing taste and very unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

You may find this to be the most unique taste
& food experience ever!!!
Do not expect to be filled up & eat like a pig. You are here for an adventure. An adventrue for your taste buds. Eat slowly, and eat small bites. Savour the roller coaster ride your taste buds will take you on. Go ahead...it's mind-blowing. Try and figure out the various, complex tastes...you may recognize a few...but just let it happen.
KEEPING AN OPEN MIND IS KEY! You are eating real food, painstakingly crafted --- no artificial crap or factory food here. It's all local and prepared by one man...a very talented young man. Some ingredients, spices, spreads, etc. are labour-intensive to construct (or deconstruct). It's artsy and it is presented as such. You will enjoy this if you have a diverse palette.
Wow...what a ride in my mouth! And I ate enough to feel satisfied.
You must try their Reisling- very nice wine from the family vinyard. It helps settle your taste buds (kind of like resetting them). This was a terrific, outstanding, and unique experience...and it will be for you too if you have the right mindset. By the way, the decor was not bad...just funky.
And Luke's Mom was nice - but I kept my questions short...remembering this is basically a two-person operation.
Half these bad reviews are by people who are too narrow-minded to experience something totally different. My mother and I had a great experience and will go back again!
Yes... it was a little expensive, but certainly worth it.
Thank you Luke and Family!!! Keep it up.
A real gem - - - right here in Kingston!.
VERY ENJOYABLE!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Luke's star still rising.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Heard about this place 5 yrs ago, and finally got to have dinner with my son there over March Break. This is truly an adventure in the experience of flavours. Luke is young, cetainly passionate about his plates, and has a great sense of humour about his interpretation of said flavours to plate. Go to his website and check it out http://lukesgastronomy.com/dinner-menu/ for the most up to date description of entrees. Will go back. Absolutely.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank chefbear007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luke's Gastronomy also viewed

 
Kingston, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing