We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer, food could be better”

Tir Nan Og Irish Pub
Ranked #42 of 429 Restaurants in Kingston
Price range: $8 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Description: Get the proper pub experience. We balance Irish-inspired dishes and North American classics. We’ve perfected the pub staple, Fish & Chips, and make our pies and pastry in-Pub. Try our fresh burgers like the legendary Guinness® Burger, with your pint of Guinness® of course!
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good beer, food could be better”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I was expecting more. Order the curry chicken tikka marsala. It seemed to have only very tiny bits of chicken, almost minced size. It did taste good but it does not beckon to return and order the same. Avoid the pasta; it is bland.

The speckled hen beer on tap was very good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dexter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    78
    51
    27
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quinte Region
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“overpriced, food was meh, slow service, you must pay for the view”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

food was meh. beer was exotic, but kinda bleh. menu was a little limited. me and some buddies had lunch there like twice (one guy has a thing for kilts, what are you gonna do), and finally the uninspired, overpriced food and slooooooow service drove us away. did i mention you wait for ever?

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank k m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Been here twice, had the balcay chips, very good. We also ordered chicken grill flatbread and lamb burger. Service was quick and prompt. Would go back for the chips.

Helpful?
Thank TorontoFreqFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
197 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“OK for an Irish Restaurant”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great location with a nice outside eating area and lots of options inside (3 different bar and seating areas). Service was very friendly but had to wait 30 minutes for food (we were warned in advance). Once it came, was just average (lamb burgers). Honestly, the prices for the food and beers were really higher than we would have expected. There are some cheaper menu options though so worth a shot.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank FenwickBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“OK Irish pub”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Pretty ordinary Irish pub. Service was OK, and the menu consisted of the usual pub food. Tried the burgers which were perfectly fine, but nothing special. Nice with outdoor seating area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank erschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tir Nan Og Irish Pub also viewed

 
Kingston, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
 

Been to Tir Nan Og Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing