We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Than Just a Place For Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Windmills

Windmills
Ranked #19 of 428 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Canadian, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Description: Exceptional food, fine wine, evocative art and soothing music, Windmills satisfy all the senses. For close to 30 years we have offered an eclectic menu from around the world in a sophisticated yet unpretentious atmosphere. Windmills lets you settle in to quiet nooks, a friendly, fully-licensed bar or our ever popular window seat overlooking Princess Street or outdoor patio. Ever changing and unique artwork graces the walls. Using only the freshest ingredients, many from local producers, our dinners are true masterpieces, our lunches divine, our Saturday and Sunday brunches, the talk of the town. Our chef’s easel is your plate. Come delight your senses. Many Gluten Free options available.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“More Than Just a Place For Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Windmills is a wonderful place to go for dinner. The menu is innovative(new with wine pairings), the chef Sam is outstanding, and the wait staff among the best we've encountered. We had a delicious Granny Smith/ bleu cheese/ spinach salad to begin. I had the flat iron steak and my husband had gnocchi with fresh asparagus. All of the vegetables are fresh and locally sourced. The desserts don't disappoint either - we had the lemon/blueberry napoleon. Highly recommend this restaurant for dinners long remembered.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    86
    33
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kingston's place for brunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Windmills has always been first choice when looking for brunch in Kingston. The food is always top notch and you leave with a full tummy and smile on your face. My favourite dish is the Eggs Southwestern; poached eggs with smoked salmon and jalapeños smothered in Hollandaise sauce over an English muffin. I crave this dish every time I want eggs! Their pierogies are another great dish to try. We always bring our friends and family here for brunch and they always want to come back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice weekend lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

4 of us had lunch at Windmills on a Saturday in May. Food was excellent, had the spring roll appetizer to start which were delicious. Our mains, consisted of a curry chicken wraps, avocado, tofu sandwich (which was surprisingly tasty) and a margarita pizza. All were very tasty and a a previous poster noted the chef has given a lot of thought to the flavour combo's in the dishes. Our meal came to $70 for one appie and 4 main dishes, no drinks. A little pricey, but, a nice experience all the same. We will go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Swore I was not going to go to this restaurant due to it's name but broke down when I read the menu. Went for breakfast and ordered the Eggs Florentine that came with home fries. Food was excellent, coffee was OK. I'll be visiting again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, exaggerated prices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Had lunch here and $50+ dollars later finished 2 salads and 2 beers. Seemed an expensive salad/beer lunch. That said, it was an awesome salad and the beer was cold. We had the goat's cheese salad and put chicken on it. There wasn't a lot of chicken but the chef had clearly thought about the flavour combinations and the herbed goat's cheese was divine. The service was adequate...I just thought it was a pricey lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AussieCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windmills also viewed

Kingston, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
 
Kingston, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
 

Been to Windmills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing