We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Food”
Review of Windmills

Windmills
Ranked #18 of 429 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Canadian, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Description: Exceptional food, fine wine, evocative art and soothing music, Windmills satisfy all the senses. For close to 30 years we have offered an eclectic menu from around the world in a sophisticated yet unpretentious atmosphere. Windmills lets you settle in to quiet nooks, a friendly, fully-licensed bar or our ever popular window seat overlooking Princess Street or outdoor patio. Ever changing and unique artwork graces the walls. Using only the freshest ingredients, many from local producers, our dinners are true masterpieces, our lunches divine, our Saturday and Sunday brunches, the talk of the town. Our chef’s easel is your plate. Come delight your senses. Many Gluten Free options available.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Awesome Food”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I've been a couple of times while visiting friends in the city, and love it every time. Dinner is my favourite. The steak is fantastic and I had a special the last time that was great! I highly recommend trying this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    89
    33
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“A Favorite of Ours”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Windmills has become one of our favorite places to dine. This restaurant has always provided us with a pleasant dining experience, great food, excellent service, and a pleasing ambiance. This is our goto place on a Friday afternoon after a stressful week at work..........a drink, some appetizers and everything looks a lot better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Favourite Place in Kingston”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My friends and family eat here often. It has amazing food for all times of the day and they just got a patio which is great for drinks with friends in the summer. I recommend Windmills to people all the time and everyone seems to love it. They catered a wedding I was at a couple of summers ago and it was fabulous too. I highly recommend you try it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maegan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Excellent food in a fun atmosphere. I eat here often with friends and family, the food and service is consistently good and we love to see what local artist works are displayed. I haven't checked out the new patio yet but plan to soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Ontario
Level Contributor
62 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Impromptu Dinner”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Wine was served correctly and the food was good but not special. Service was pleasant but very slow- over 2 hours for dinner but we're retired and had nothing better to do. I hear they do a great brunch. Maybe we'll try again on a Sunday.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saxguy302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windmills also viewed

Kingston, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
 
Kingston, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
 

Been to Windmills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing