We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home cooking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aunt Lucy's Dinner House - CLOSED

Aunt Lucy's Dinner House
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wide selection of real food in an warm inviting homey place. Turkey dinner at holidays was fantastic

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    48
    39
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“If you're thinking "Hm I've never been there". Dont bother going.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Tonight I went with my boyfriend...we both appreciate fine dining, enjoy going to places that aren't chain restaurants...but tonight we thought "hey we've never been to aunt lucy's, why dont we go" and to be honest, the interior decor was sort of cool...very old fashioned, and they featured a live pianist, who was taking musical requests. The menu was not what I expected- mainly steak, seafood and pasta and "traditional favourites" such as a turkey dinner (which is what my boyfriend ordered). I ordered a 6 oz sirloin steak which was $21.98, the turkey dinner was $20(ish). We both anticipated obscene plates of food....but were shocked when we both received so-so dinners. All I'm saying is, if you have an appreciation for good food and are willing to spend $20 or so on a plate...take your business locally to somewhere you atleast know you're going to enjoy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EKingslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Food was pretty good, nothing too special but it was good. Our server was wonderful. Found the prices a little much for what it was.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank itsmeinhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good for a large group”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Have been there several times. Handled a large group of people well.
Food was average...not necessary worth the money. Service was good.
Buffett was disappointing. The offerings were unexciting and they were running out of items, even though the buffet was open for another 30 min.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mothers Day dinner was excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We arrived earlier than our reservations and were immediately placed into a unique little dining room of our own. Service was fast and food was "home made" delicious.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aunt Lucy's Dinner House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing