We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant with lovely patio out back!”

Le Chien Noir Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Chien Noir Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 433 Restaurants in Kingston
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Description: Located steps from historic Market Square, Le Chien Noir features French bistro classics & modern 'Farm to Table' features served in an upbeat, comfortable atmosphere. All dishes are prepared using fresh, high quality, seasonal and whenever possible local ingredients. Enjoy our colourful heated Courtyard Terrace, Dining room or our spacious Zinc Bar. 20 Wines by the glass, Craft beer, Vintage & Contemporary Cocktails. Prix Fixe Menu, Children's Menu, Vegetarian Options.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with lovely patio out back!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We (parents and university student daughter) had brunch here on a warm Sunday - perfect for eating on the nicely appointed rear patio. (Although the restaurant interior has a wonderful vibe too).
The service was friendly and professional. The brunch menu was interesting with eclectic takes on traditional dishes like Eggs Benedict. We also tried the falalel and soup/sandwich option which were both good but not exceptional.
I suspect the lunch and dinner menus are likley to deliver more 'bang for the buck' as the brunch, while interesteing and of good qulaity, was a little overpriced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CGFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    157
    68
    41
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, great cocktails, great service”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I visited a lot of good restaurants during my stay in Kingston, but this was the star. My table ordered six different menu items and all were terrific. A perfect meal. The staff was also endlessly patient and good natured with the babies and toddlers in our group. The cocktail menu is clever and well executed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrsbartholomew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great, innovative food”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I dined at Le Chien Noir twice in August 2012. We selected from the mid-day menu, which is varied and a good value. The calamari and gazpacho were excellent, as were the fish tacos, steak frites and bistro burger. While the portions are not huge, the quality is amazing. The servers are very knowledgeable, particularly Mike. We dined on the patio, which is a great retreat. We will definitely return to Le Chien Noir when we next visit Kingston.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Torontofave8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Still a favourite”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We've been dining here for years, and have always had a lovely meal. Visited recently while on holiday in the area. Food, as always, did not disappoint. The appetizer of the day (a combination plate of halibut & pork belly) was fantastic - two distinct portions that were flavourful in their own different ways. Hubby's filet was excellent w/ a fantastic sauce and fresh veggies. My pasta dish was absolutely heavenly - heirloom tomatoes, arugula, ricotta, olive oil - it had all the simplicity and huge flavours of a meal on a sunny terrace in Italy. Just loved it. Had an excellent 2009 Xavier Chateauneuf-du-Pape as well, which was a nice find. Yet again, a fantastic meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ice_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“yummy!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Have had the pleasure of having dinner here twice. Food is fantastic with use of locally grown food in abundance. Restaurant portions are small, prices are high, but the quality and presentation is fabulous. I have had lamb that has melted in my mouth! Even the poutine is gourmet. A wonderful place to dine when celebrating something! We always get to sit in the patio out back, which is a little cramped, but offers shade and greenery.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Glennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chien Noir Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Le Chien Noir Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing