We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 'must' when you're in Kingston”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Piggy

Chez Piggy
Reserve with OpenTable
Chez Piggy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 428 Restaurants in Kingston
Cuisines: Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A 'must' when you're in Kingston”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were impressed: having stopped by for a drink at the bar, we decided to stay and dine as soon as we scanned the dinner menu. This is a totally unpretentious restaurant in which delicious food and beverages (we liked that the wine was available by the glass, half litre, and bottle) is served by knowledgeable, efficient and friendly staff. We used chunks of bread from a variety of the in-house bakery's delectable goods to mop up the oil from our dish of olives with fennel. The complimentary bread basket was cheerfully and voluntarily refreshed, and just the right amount of time was left for us to enjoy bread, olives and wine before our delicious (and filling) main courses were served. We were too full to give in to the tempting desserts, but were delighted to see that espresso and Grappa were available. Next time we're in Kingston, we'll definitely be back. This is a great place for a really good dining experience at a very reasonable cost. It makes a much appreciated change from the lack-lustre atmosphere and food of many chain restaurants.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BunniHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    253
    126
    58
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting menu”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I have dined at Chez Piggy both inside and on the outdoor patio. Great patio. The menu offered some different choices which was nice. Service was excellent and the food was very good. Some may consider it a little pricey but we will definetly return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Lazare, Quebec
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great ambience, excellent service, a real treat.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had a fabulous meal, wonderful ambience and excellent service, there is no ordinary run of the mill food here. The decor is not to be missed either. If you are visiting Kingston you should make plans to eat at Chez Piggy. Not to be missed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plaflamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy brunch”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had brunch with a bigger group. Really enjoyed the atmosphere and the food was all delicious. The service was a bit slow but that may have been due to how busy the restaurant was.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Toronto Area
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Chez Piggy for dinner before the Gananoque Theatre”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We decided to dine at Chez Piggy for dinner before taking in a show at the Gananoque Theatre and felt we made an excellent choice. My husband and I started with a plate of oysters which we quite enjoyed and they tasted so fresh. We both couldn't resist ordering the Thyme Shallot Marinated Ostrich Loin (not found on too many menus) which came with mushroom mashed potatoes and winter greens. The meal melted in our mouths, was absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection. Highly recommended meal. Our teenage daughter was with us and ordered the salad with Vietnamese spring rolls served on top and she was pleased with her choice.
The service was excellent with a very friendly and knowledgeable staff.
You have to walk down an alleyway to get to the front door of this restaurant and they also have a large patio which we might check out when back in the area again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winddancer367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Piggy also viewed

 

Been to Chez Piggy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing