We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of First Canada Inns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
First Canada Inns
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Ottawa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“OK place to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were there as part of a team in town for a hockey tournament.

Location is convenient, close to the 401 and a major shopping area with fast food restaurants and an outlet mall. Not too many sit-down restaurants in walking distance other than an East Side Mario's that is packed.

Price was OK, you don't expect the best deal when booking as a team but it wasn't unreasonable.

Hotel is quiet enough at night.

Pool was working and available, very important for a team of young boys. The hotel also made a conference room available to us so the boys had a place to hang out and play together - this was fantastic since it kept them from running up and down the halls and getting into trouble. The hotel also allowed us to use the bar area for a team pizza dinner - much appreciated, a real benefit to us all.

Breakfast was OK, there was adequate food and none of it was bad, but none of it was really what you'd call good. Muffins were all on the sweet side (almost like cupcakes), not a lot of hot options, no meat of any sort. I've stayed at other places that have a more appealing breakfast for the same price.

Cleanliness is definitely iffy. The good news is that I looked hard for bedbugs and found none. The bad news is that the sheets were obviously stained and had to be replaced - once I opened the curtains and pulled back the bed covering this was easy to see. The telephone was covered in dust and the remote control was greasy, there was something stuck to the TV screen, etc. We used our own supplies to wipe everything down before anyone touched anything. The cleaning staff may think they're cleaning, but if they never open the curtains the room is sort of dim and you won't see the grime built up.

I wouldn't seek this place out to stay again, but if I was part of a team that booked it again I would go along with it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WatcherOfTheFries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your compliments and the opportunity to explore your criticisms so that we are always providing delightful stays. I’m glad your team enjoyed using the pool and our conference room. I have addressed the cleanliness issues you have described and we have just recently bought new sheets to help curb the stain problem. Our housekeeping staff also have new protocols in place so they do not miss anything.

Hopefully we can welcome you and your team back at another time and wish you the very best.

Taylor Swan
Operations Manager
taylor@first-canada-inns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    68
    66
    40
    54
See reviews for
92
74
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

When I say cheap I do not mean low grade but rather frugal and surprising so because this hotel has a pool, wheelchair accessible room with balcony door, continental breakfast was the same as most hotels but here you really did get a lot of choices and the room rate included all the coffee, tea, juice and much more for a very reasonable price. Will be going back next year as it is centrally located and we go for a Special Olympics tournament every year. We have stayed at other places but found this to be the best choice for us.... it even had nice whirlpool for that end of day moment with no one in there but me, timing is everything. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: we travel as disabled persons, we used room 101 as it is near pool and has patio doors to enter and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thesaranader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for the positive review. Your comments are truly appreciated and I will share them with our entire team as each one of them works very hard to ensure all of our guests leave delighted. I hope that your time spent in Kingston was a delight and we are very pleased to have you as our guest.

We hope to see you back very soon.

Best Regards;
Taylor Swan
Operations Manager
taylor@first-canada-inns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Front desk staff were friendly as were housekeeping staff we encountered during our stay. Our room was spacious and clean. Requested an additional pillow and one finally arrived about 3 hours after making the request, albeit long before turning in for the night :) Towels in the room were adequate except for one that should be retired; threadbare and unraveling. One of the bed skirts should also be retired or re-sewn as it had a huge tear. See photos. Breakfast was simple but enough for everyone to find something they should like. Pool and hot tub were clean. My son and enjoyed swimming. Would stay again but would suggest the management take note of the two aforementioned (minor) issues.

Room Tip: The main floor rooms have a sliding door to the outside so it's perfect for those traveling with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdmatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review, we believe every review gives us the opportunity to improve ourselves and make all of our guest stays more enjoyable. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the issues with the linens and bed skirts you have mentioned and these items have been removed from rotation. We appreciate the compliments you had to say about our team and pool! We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors and want you to walk out the door feeling refreshed.

We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Taylor Swan
Operations Manager
taylor@first-canada-inns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stay at the First Canada Inn 6-7 times a year for business and have always been happy with our stays. However the last 2 visits have been disappointing, and it is obvious that maintenance and cleanliness have gone down hill. On our last two visits the rooms has been less than clean, with dirty Kleenex on the heating unit one visit and garbage in the garbage can on the second. Please get rid of all the decorative pillows which are filthy as I am sure the spend most of time on the dirty carpets that did not look like they had been vacuumed recently. The pool is dirty with grime around the top waterline, so thick that people have carved their names in it (same names on both visits 2 month apart) and rust spots all over the bottom. The hot tub was broken on our last visit. The dirty mops and buckets sitting in the corner are also less than appealing. WIFI is poor and fades in and out, on one visit we got no signal in our room and had to work in the lobby. The front desk staff was cool and certainly not friendly. Breakfast was still OK and a nice perk to the visit, but not enough to keep our business. We will be looking elsewhere in the future.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the lobby if you need a wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank DG1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We have addressed the cleanliness issues you have described and gone over proper customer service skills with all of our staff. Our pool has undergone a thorough cleaning and there is no longer any waterline present, our hot tub as well is in perfect working condition. We also have recently updated our wireless service provider and equipment along with it and no longer have issues with loss signals. I am truly sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. Hopefully we can welcome you back at another time and show you how we have improved. Feel free to email me personally when coming back to Kingston.

Warm regards,
Taylor Swan
Operations Manager
Taylor@first-canada-inns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I was returning early evening via 401 from Ottawa when the driving conditions forced me to 4way flashers at 25km/hr. I found the hotel by luck (did not know about it or location) and impulse. There were many others who had also decided to seek shelter. Check in was quick and CAA gave me a slight discount. Since I had planned to drive to Ottawa and return to Toronto the same day, I was not prepared. It would have been nice if the hotel had emergency packages for guests who forget their toothbrushes/paste. However, this is probably more common with higher priced hotels. There was a complimentary newspaper available and the morning breakfast had quite an assortment of choices. Overall, I think I lucked out with my accommodation both on price and quality.

Room Tip: There are many doors which open to the outside from the main floor so I think most rooms are well si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitmom1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for evaluating your stay and for your nice compliments! We will also take your suggestions and see what can be done to make your next stay 100% delightful! I hope next time you're in town it's due to better circumstances and you can stay longer to see what our great city has to offer! Feel free to email me personally when coming back to Kingston.

Best regards,
Taylor Swan
Operations Manager
Taylor@first-canada-inns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Staying for a hockey tournament, and wanted a clean hotel room with a pool. The pool was broken and that sometimes happens but it never got fixed the whole weekend. Most of the rooms were cold when we got there, and some took hours to heat up. The party room was completely frozen but usable the next day. Staff was nice. The parking lot was not cleaned of snow, that turned to ice.
The room was disapointing to stay the least. (out dated, stuff was brooken, stained towels, the cheapest bodywash/shampoo dispenser in the shower. I don't usually write reviews but though I would mention we would never stay there again is something I heard from other parents as well.

Most skipped the breakfast after having a look.

Most checked out after the first night even though they paid for it. That says it all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your review! We appreciate the opportunity to explore your criticisms so that we are always providing delightful stays. We apologize that you happen to be here during what has been a true Canadian winter, unfortunately due to the constant snow, ice and cold sometimes there is only so much we can do. What happened to the pool was out of our hands, but we had someone in right away to fix it as we always strive to have it up and running especially on busy team weekends. We have addressed the issues you have described, and assure you and any future guest of our property that our rooms are clean and comfortable. If you come back to our hotel I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me (Taylor). We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Taylor Swan
Operations Manager
Taylor@first-canada-inns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Lakes
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We've stayed here about 10 times over the past 3 years, always a good value experience, The hotel is not fancy but it is clean and well-maintained. Our rooms have been very clean, with prompt and capable housekeeping. The rooms are not small, and having a fridge and microwave was a nice bonus. WiFi network was fine; the staff pleasant and competent. A bonus for us are the dog-friendly rooms on the ground floor, which have walk out access to a back lawn.

Room Tip: If you have a dog: ground floor, looking out to the lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbrooktrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful compliments! it was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Best regards;
Taylor Swan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
#18 of 37 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
0.3 mi away
Ramada Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Super 8 Kingston
Super 8 Kingston
#10 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
3.7 mi away
Motel 6 Kingston
Motel 6 Kingston
#9 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Canada Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Canada Inns

Property: First Canada Inns
Address: 1 First Canada Crt, Kingston, Ontario K7K 6W2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — First Canada Inns 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Canada Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Canada Inns Hotel Kingston
1st Canada Inns
First Canada Hotel
First Canada Inns Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing