We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills, but No Problems”
Review of First Canada Inns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Canada Inns
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Stayed for two nights at the First Canada Inn and was very pleased. The rate is excellent (we got it for $89 a night) and it's fairly well located (off the 401 and off Division St, with all kinds of restaurants and basic shopping). At these rates one shouldn't expect a Grand Hotel. What we got was a nice basic room-- clean and comfortable, good beds, easy access via patio doors, air conditioned, a microwave, a small refrigerator (very handy) and a good TV. Everything was clean (don't know about those flowered bedcovers in the 2007 reviews--- everything this time was ultrasuede) and the family dog was warmly welcomed. Front desk service was just fine and the free continental breakfast was adequate. What you do not get is: in-room iron and ironing board; in-room hair dryer; wireless internet; complimentary morning newspaper. All in all, great value for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PoloRalphLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 276 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2007

so first thing first, I'm a little picky with hotels and the first thing I do if there is a floral bedspread it comes off and goes in the corner. But in this hotel I thankfully brought my own bedding because soon as the floral bedspread came off it revealed a nasty blanket with someones leftovers on it!!!!!!!! There was something all over one of the walls and what resembled pizza sauce on our patio door curtain. The patio door did not work thankfully there was a piece of wood to keep it closed. So at the rate we paid I wasn't expecting the ritz but a clean blanket and room isn't asking too much. Thank goodness for hand sanitizer!

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank momxthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We have stayed at this property numerous times in the past. You can't find a better deal anywhere else in Kingston. We paid $79.95 a night for 4 nights. The rooms are large and come with a microwave and fridge. The bed had a huge foam pad on it which made it ultra soft and comfortable. Our room also had a 2nd mini-room where we put up our son's crib. That worked out perfectly. The continental breakfast is adequate - toast, fruit salad, cereal, muffins and juice.

They are also adding an indoor pool, fitness centre and conference centre. It is about 1/2 completed and is expected to be open some time next year.

The hotel is located near at least 1 dozen restraunts and is only a 5km drive to downtown.

This property is not perfect but you will not find a better deal anywhere in Kingston. Take my word for it!!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgrs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

I went to Kingston this past weekend for a wedding and there were a group of rooms booked at the First Canada Inn at a discounted rate for the wedding guests. I called well in advance and reserved 2 rooms. I also called a week before checkin to confirm that I had in fact made the reservation for 2 rooms. Then my uncle called the day of checkin to find out if we could check in early. He was told both of our rooms were ready. So we went to checkin and we're told that we only have 1 room booked. They did manage to get us another room but that was only a glimpse of what was to come.

There was no iron or ironing board or hairdryer in the room. Luckily we were able to get these items at the front desk but I don't think I've ever seen a hotel that doesn't have them in the room. There were a few ice machines and vending machines but every single one of them were out of order. We were told there was no ice in the entire hotel, not even at the bar.

We were trying to make local calls and kept getting an error message so we called the front desk and he said he had to "turn on" the local calling feature and to try again in 30 seconds. Well 10 minutes later it still wasn't working. Had to go down to the front desk and then we're finally told that even though it's a local call we still have to dial the area code. He could have told us that when we called the first time.

The hotel offers free continental breakfast but it was pitiful. Also, they have a computer in the lobby but no internet on the computer. What's the point of that?

My mom requested a room with a balcony which he was able to confirm but when we stepped out on the "balcony" it was just sliding doors that opened out into the parking lot. There was no balcony.

OH, and the final straw: I gave him my credit card when I checked in and he put a hold on it for $200 (which he failed to mention to me). When I checked out, instead of using the original authorization for the $200 hold, he charged my credit card for that amount again. So when I went to check in to my hotel in Toronto the following night, my credit card was declining because the hotel was holding $400 instead of $200.

The only good things about the hotel: bed wasn't too bad, the room had a mini fridge, shower pressure was good.

But I would never stay there again.

3  Thank kristysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jmm33850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ad900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Josianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Super 8 Kingston
#12 of 37 in Kingston
219 reviews
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
#21 of 37 in Kingston
191 reviews
Comfort Inn Midtown
#23 of 37 in Kingston
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Canada Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Canada Inns

Address: 1 First Canada Crt, Kingston, Ontario K7K 6W2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: $72 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — First Canada Inns 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your First Canada Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Canada Inns Hotel Kingston
1st Canada Inns
First Canada Hotel
First Canada Inns Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing