We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of First Canada Inns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
First Canada Inns
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
North Battleford, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Sorry that this review is coming a little late. My grandfather and I made the trip down to Kingston, ON to visit my brother who was staying at RMC. We arrived at the hotel much earlier than check-in time, and the staff were more than accommodating, allowing us to check-in early, put our bags in our room, and take off to RMC. This was all free of cost.

The first room we went into was disappointing... the room was musty, the windows were nailed shut, and there was an air freshener in the socket that smelled... horrible. Had the windows been accessible, I'm sure we could have aired it out by the time we returned, but alas, I requested a room change. The second room was better. Two queen-sized beds, desk and chair, reclining chair in the back corner, clean bathroom, and windows worked.

One of the reasons we had chosen this hotel was the indoor pool, which did not disappoint. It was clean, as was the hot tub. It was also fairly quiet. Inside the pool area, there was also some gym equipment available for those guests looking to have a quick morning/evening workout.

There was a laundry room available on site, coin operated. Also an ice machine if needed. The layout of the hotel itself left much to be desired. There was no elevator for my grandfather to use... and we were located wayyyy in the right wing on the second floor, which was a lengthy walk to reception, the car, the pool - just about everything.

The Continental breakfast left much to be desired. One of the two nights that we stayed, we were greeted with a girls volleyball team who took just about everything from the "buffet table" - which was a piece of plywood on top of their pool table in the lobby area. This lobby area is also a very small enclosed area, which can comfortably seat ~8-10 people at a time. We were down for breakfast around 7:30am, and there was little more than fruit loops left, and absolutely no seating. My advice would be to grab a real meal elsewhere, as we both felt like we were scrounging for food, and left hungry.

We paid about $99.50 (with taxes) a night, which was much more than we would ever pay for this hotel again. However, the staff tried, and they seemed to care... so I would consider returning for another trip to RMC - if the price was right.

Room Tip: Try to get a room centralized to everything - as close to reception as possible, or you will be walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaAucoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    68
    66
    40
    54
See reviews for
92
74
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had a pleasant stay at First Canada Inn. It was clean, beds were comfortable, and the AC was cold given the fact that the weather was really hot on the days that we stayed in Kingston. The bathroom was functional but small and not much counter space. Breakfast was adequate but not much room for you to sit. Internet was okay at night but not in the morning. Girl at the front desk was really nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. It has everything I was looking for - breakfast, parking and internet - and I didn't have to pay extra. Plus, as a bonus, there is an indoor pool and small lounge. The room was big and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable ... I had a great sleep. All the staff were super friendly and I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crissy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Honestly, I booked the hotel because it's got a salt water pool (loved the pool)... and looked at the location after the fact. I was pleasantly surprised that it was clean, breakfast (included) was ok and the staff was lovely. It was a good long walk from the tourist stuff in Kingston, but still walkable (for me - about 2.5km?), though I did drive back into town for dinner.

Room Tip: no restaurant, but a continental breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller_cdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We were here for a skating competition.. Like all Kingston hotels they tend to service the sport team events.. so lots of people.. could be lots of noise but actually was quiet late at night. They have an after 10 no noise policy. The pool is good. Breakfast ok... coffee awful, so was the orange juice, both watered down. There is a East Side Marios right in front of hotel so dinner was convenient. Rooms were good.. some seemed to be nicer than others.. and gave you robes to wear to the pool?? Duvet covers and pillows the way they set them up was nice (better than a comfort in etc) nothing wrong with them at all, very clean.
Price - I think was a little steep for kingston... $127.00 including taxes... and this was supposed to be a team rate??? I'd have prefered to it being under $100... The front desk staff were great. Very accommodating when I need to change rooms due to people next door swearing. I thought if this is how the walls are in the day.. how will the sound be at night with the language but moved rooms and sleep was great.

Room Tip: 2nd floor might be quieter.. won't here people above you... but all in all I think with the no n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadybuggyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This little hotel is in a perfect location and has all the amenities you require including a healty morning breakfast

Room Tip: Main Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blksnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
Level Contributor
307 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed two nights in this hotel prior to our daughter's wedding. It was a very basic hotel with very few amenities. The carpet in our room was torn, breakfast was very basic and served on top of the pool table. The staff was friendly but this would not be the kind of place you would want to vacation in.

Room Tip: We looked at room 249 which is a suite that was actually pretty nice. We stayed in 260 and it had i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chileice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
#18 of 37 in Kingston
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Super 8 Kingston
Super 8 Kingston
#10 of 37 in Kingston
177 reviews
3.7 mi away
Motel 6 Kingston
Motel 6 Kingston
#9 of 37 in Kingston
373 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 37 in Kingston
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Canada Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Canada Inns

Property: First Canada Inns
Address: 1 First Canada Crt, Kingston, Ontario K7K 6W2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — First Canada Inns 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Canada Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Canada Inns Hotel Kingston
1st Canada Inns
First Canada Hotel
First Canada Inns Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing