We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Tattoo”

Fort Henry (Fort Henry National Historic Site)
Book In Advance
More Info
$392.51*
and up
Ultimate Thousand Islands Helicopter Tour
Ranked #3 of 93 things to do in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Go for the Tattoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I genuine 18 th century fort, fully maintained and operational....Hey the Yankees may try to attack and take Kingston again. If they do, the fort will be ready with the latest black powder ordinance to repel their square rigged ships.

Wednesday and Saturday evenings they have Sunset Ceremonies with full marching bands and lots of cannon fire, smoke and brimstone. They recreate a British square, and a full infantry charge. You will see and learn about the military tactics of the era.

There are also many exhibits of civilian and military life of the times.

I try to visit at least once per year. (But I like history and lots of marching and noise.)

Definitely thrilling. The kids will love it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Taxwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    580
    350
    102
    31
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“amazing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

great historic site, very visitor friendly, wheel chairs available, available for special bookings, food was very good, staff extremely helpful

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Canada
Level Contributor
276 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“The Food is Excellent...as is the Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We recently held a Christmas Party in the Officer's Dining Hall at the Fort. We have eaten there several times before but never at Christmas. The food was delicious and was served by "Soldier Servants" in full uniform. As they are "servants" you are not supposed to say please or thank you but simply order them as to what you want. It is very hard to do and every time we are there I revert to using "my manners". The décor is the old ding room built with limestone and brink with a stone floor. Great place and great food. We will back in the spring. If you are dining at the "fort" the parking and entrance fees are usually waived.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun to go but don't go at end of season”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Had a very good time, tour guides are very interesting and fun to listen to. Lots of areas to explore. Great photo opts at the top of the fort.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SJAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sunset Ceremonies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This designated historic site is fascinating to visit at any time. The sunset ceremonies which, in 2013 took place on Wed. and Sat. evenings during the summer, are fantastic!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Henry (Fort Henry National Historic Site) also viewed

 

Been to Fort Henry (Fort Henry National Historic Site)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing