We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like a friend!”
Review of Green Woods Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green Woods Inn
Ranked #6 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We were staying at Green Woods Inn when we discovered that our flight to the uk was cancelled due to the Icelandic volcano and that we were unable to get back to the UK for 2 weeks! Tessa and Nigel were wonderful! They helped us in so many ways to cope with the problem and to sort out things at home. We were then able to enjoy our extra two weeks holiday in Canada. They were brilliant and I could recommend their wonderful home to anyone wishing to stay in the Kingston area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickipatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 100 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2010

As this was a working vacation, the place where my co-worker and I wanted to relax had to be wonderful and restful. To my delight, the reviews I read on trip advisor about the Green Woods Inn were true. This inn is located just off the highway, but still offers a country atmosphere. Our day trip to the University was only a 5 min. run into town. We enjoyed being close to the city and having the luxury of the country at our purview. We also had the extra bonus of free and spacious parking.
In addition, our hosts - Nigel and Tessa were incredibility helpful and gracious hosts. They cooked a sumptuous breakfast each morning that was fit for royalty. Moreover, the rooms were beautiful and extremely clean. We were delighted that they offered a room with twin beds. The rooms are spacious and filled with lovely antiques. In addition, some of the rooms offer luxurious bedding to get lost in. If going to Kingston, this Bed & Breakfast is definitely worth a visit if you want to be pampered. Their quote, "Arrive a traveler, depart a friend" is certain apt. Enjoy the ride!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MajorMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

stayed one night in this B&B and I would do so again in a heartbeat. Beautiful rooms, great hosts and amazing breakfast made it a trip to remember. A true hidden gem in one of Canada's loveliest towns.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

This was our second stay at Green Woods Inn which is a fine Bed and Breakfast hosted by thoughtful owners who serve an extravagantly sumptuous breakfast. They offer world-wide free telephone service, accept pets with some wise constraints, and take rightful pride in their home.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margo010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

What a lovely experience. From the garden, to the decor & restored period features in the common areas, to the beautifully decorated guest rooms with their ultra comfortable beds & bed linens, to the mouth watering breakfasts prepared & presented by our gracious hosts, our stay(s) at Green Woods Inn exceeded our expectations. 2009 was our 2nd "Friends Reunion Weekend" at the Green Woods Inn & we've already agreed it will be where we stay for our 3rd, 4th etc..........

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed at the Greenwoods Inn just one night as part of our travels through Canada. Compared to our other B&B experiences, this was by far the best. The house is beautiful, located outside of Kingston but easily reachable by car. Our room was very cosy and quiet. Tessa and Nigel were very welcoming and helpful and breakfast was simply delicious (one of us is a vegetarian and this was no problem at all). We will definitely return here if we visit Kingston again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etdha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

My wife and I (along with our canine companion), had a wonderful stay at the historic Green Woods Inn. Nigel and Tessa are excellent hosts, with wonderful accommodations and breakfasts, and a wealth of local tourist information for the out-of-town traveler. Green Woods Inn is very well appointed and comfortable. We have come away rested and refreshed. Thank-you, Nigel and Tessa. We really enjoyed our stay with you.
Robert Royal
ps. Our Sadie appreciated your complimentary doggy treats.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robberbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
4.4 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
6 mi away
Green Acres Inn
Green Acres Inn
#3 of 37 in Kingston
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
3.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
3.9 mi away
Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Woods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Woods Inn

Address: 1368 Highway 15, Kingston, Ontario K7L 0C4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range: $169 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Woods Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Rideau Heritage Tourism Route, Green Woods Inn is one of Kingston's finest Historic Inns. Offering a peacful setting in the city of Kingston, just minutes to the down town core and one mile south of Hwy 401. The Inn has been fully renovated with all rooms having fine cotton linens, luxurious private ensuite bathrooms, central air-conditioning and private on-ground guest parking. Our full gourmet breakfast helps to make your stay an extra-special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Green Woods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing