We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn !!!”
Review of Green Woods Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green Woods Inn
Ranked #6 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Green Woods In is a beautiful renovated heritage home; has clean & comfortable rooms; offers outstanding breakfasts; and is operated by wonderful Hosts, Nigel & Tessa. You can't go wrong by choosing this place !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PETER M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 100 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is our third year to visit the Inn on our anniversary. It is a very special place for the love of my life We have become attached to Nigel and Tessa and look at them as really good friends. The beds are as soft as a cloud. The rooms are impeccable. The breakfast is to die for. We will continue to return each year in September as long as we can. I as for flowers in the room and they are always so beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed for one week at Greenwoods Inn and would highly recommend this charming, friendly 'home from home'. Nigel and Tessa are perfect hosts, being ready always to advise on things to see and do in Kingston, only 5 mins drive away, and the beautiful Thousand Islands. There is a relaxed atmosphere here that immediately puts you at your ease. My room, Ash, was very comfortable and I was able to open both windows, on two aspects, for fresh air and on the chillier nights the heating was efficient. The sunsets seen over the large garden at the back were spectacular. I have left the best till last....the breakfasts were truly delicious, copious but I never felt over-faced. It was reassuring to hear where the fruit, bread etc. had been sourced and the crab apple jelly and herbs were from the garden. A large selection of teas is available. The breakfasts were never repeated the whole week I was there. Thank you Tessa and Nigel for a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16Becky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at the Inn just after Labor Day with another couple and had the place to ourselves. Nigel and Tessa could not have been more welcoming or more gracious hosts and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. When one of our party did not want the fabulous breakfast of eggs benedict one more, they inquired what he did want and the next day made sure to have precisely what he was looking for. They also ffered excellent suggestions on things to do and even took the liberty to research possible destinations for us.

The Inn itself is meticulously maintained. The rooms are spotless and beautifully decorated and while the living room is not huge, it was a perfect spot to unwind with a cup of tea or coffee after a long day sightseeing and a delicious meal.

The Inn is located about seven minutes from downtown and even closer to Fort Henry. It can be difficult to locate at night so I would urge new guests to try to arrive in daylight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rube1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night during our trip around North America and South Eastern Canada and as with all the B&Bs we found through Tripadvisor, it truely lived up to our expectations. The house is set back from the main road within a lovely garden. Nigel was very imformative about the area and places of particular interest and Tessa actually wrote to us after we first booked, letting us know about the Wednesday evening show at Fort Frederick which we made time to experience. Our room was a grand size with everything we needed in the bathroom. There were also tea and coffee making facilities in our room. We had a very good night's sleep with no interuptions. Breakfast the following morning was delightful, with home baked breads, jams, fresh fruit and a very tasty "lower" calorie eggs benedict. We really felt at home here and would have loved to stay longer. There is such a lot to do in the area and we would certainly stay at Green Woods again; highly recommended and thank you Nigel and Tessa for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The house is set back from the main road, so take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 67SYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

For those who don't mind staying outside of the core, this is a great place to stay. Although right on Hwy 15, it is not too noisy and the comfy beds lull one to sleep anyways. It is a drive to restaurants etc so if you want to just park and "wander", not the right place to be and u r better off downtown. It is a quick drive and street parking is free after 5.30pm. Nigel and Tessa, the owners, are fabulous hosts-welcoming and helpful. They prepare delicious bfasts with no detail left undone from all the homemade jams to the table setting. Rooms are spacious and welcoming (great beds) and bathrooms are a very good size with deep soaker tubs. Given the hwy, if you are a light sleeper, ask for the rooms at the back of the house right at the top of the stairs as the windows won't face directly on the hwy. Internet is also stronger if one goes towards the back of the house or living room downstairs where there is a small fridge, coffee/tea maker and satellite tv. Half the fun is chatting with the hosts and other guests. The quality of the Inn and the hosts usually means commanding a higher price which is the case at Green Woods but worth it for the experience. The front garden is beautiful and one can lose themselves just reading a book. A great stop-over place for a visit to Kingston, the 1000 islands or for weary travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smallhanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This B&B is hosted by Nigel & Tessa, both lovely welcoming people who seem to love what they do.. the property is very nice, extremely clean, rooms beautifully appointed, woodwork everywhere...and the second "B" as in Breakfast, was amazing... homemade jams, yogurt parfaits, and eggs benedict made with any twist you'd like. I would highly recommend it to anyone going into Kingston for a night or a few nights... LOVELY. Dorit

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
4.4 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
6 mi away
Green Acres Inn
Green Acres Inn
#3 of 37 in Kingston
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
3.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
3.9 mi away
Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Woods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Woods Inn

Address: 1368 Highway 15, Kingston, Ontario K7L 0C4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range: $169 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Woods Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Rideau Heritage Tourism Route, Green Woods Inn is one of Kingston's finest Historic Inns. Offering a peacful setting in the city of Kingston, just minutes to the down town core and one mile south of Hwy 401. The Inn has been fully renovated with all rooms having fine cotton linens, luxurious private ensuite bathrooms, central air-conditioning and private on-ground guest parking. Our full gourmet breakfast helps to make your stay an extra-special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Green Woods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing