We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They put the "Breakfast" in B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Green Woods Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green Woods Inn
Ranked #6 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“They put the "Breakfast" in B&B”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We visit Kingston frequently for family functions and have experienced many of Kingston's B&Bs. We now travel with a canine companion and were delighted to find that the Green Woods is dog friendly.I honestly can't say enough good things about the Green Woods. The location is great (a 7 minute drive to downtown), the rooms are large, comfortable and lovingly maintained, the breakfasts (we've stayed twice so far) are fantastic, and above all, Tessa and Nigel have created a warm, welcoming and friendly environment. We look forward to many return visits.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
63
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our stay at the Green Woods Inn was perfect from the moment we parked in the driveway. Nigel and Tessa royally welcomed us into their beautiful home. Tessa had arranged for our wine-tasting dinner cruise in Kingston and made sure we had a window seat as requested. Nigel and Tessa are awesome hosts who truly attended to every detail, even allowing us to check into our lovely Oak Room early. The room was absolutely beautiful and very tastefully decorated, our room was immaculately prepared for our arrival. In addition to being wonderful hosts with the utmost attention to detail, they are also awesome chefs who served us a first rate gourmet breakfast. You won't be disappointed with this B@B!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

At first we were slightly hesitant pulling into the driveway because we incorrectly thought the home was too far from downtown Kngston, but we were promptly greeted by Nigel at the door and quickly reassured as to close we actually were. Nigel and Tessa's home is absolutely beautiful, and they kept it true to the original. The guest room with coffees, books, movies, and games was appreciated, as were the many tourist bookets, welcome treats, and bathroom amenities. Nigel and Tessa ar gracios hosts, knowledgeable about their home's history and surrounding points of interest for visitors to the area. Breakfast was lovely, and we appreciated the care that was put into creating visually appealing, satisfying, and delicious morning meals. Thank you for a lovely stay in your home!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
489 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Green Woods Inn is a very nice quaint B&B run by Nigel & Tessa. Lovely comfortable rooms with antique furniture and you are guaranteed a good sleep. There is a slight hum from the neaby road but not really an issue even if you are a light sleeper. There is no air conditioning but overhead fans are more than adequate. Bathrooms are large and equipped with everything you may need. Breakfasts are to die for and you get more than enough to eat. But it's not a case of coming down to breakfast between 7 and 10, you must give the time you require breakfast the night before - which may require you to set an alarm if you are a heavy sleeper. Also unlike other B&Bs , a breakfast is prepared for you - you don't suggest " I'll have 2 Sausages, an egg and some bacon ". I personally found this daunting but I got breakfasts like no other, really well cooked with fresh ingredients and great recipies. You also must try the carrot cake jam. Nigel gave us Great info and maps on planning our route. Free WiFi was also an added bonus. Chipmunks in the garden were a real treat. Certainly somewhere worth considering if you are in the Kingston / Gananoque region. The location is a bit off the beaten track but its worth finding.

Room Tip: Choose the Oak room for a few dollars extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigessa, Owner at Green Woods Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We usually reply to our all guest reviews privately but thought we should, on this occasion, point out that Green Woods Inn does have central air conditioning. We do however try to be environmentally conscious and use it only when temperature/humidity are too high for a good nights' sleep. We thought it important to clarify this. With our gratitude to all our guests for their reviews, which are gratefully appreciated
Nigel & Tessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We recently enjoyed our second stay at Green Woods.
Nigel and Tessa are wonderful hosts--warm, friendly, helpful.
They are very proud of their community and they have lots of suggestions for travelers re places to dine, sights to see, things to do.
The house is immaculately clean. Our bedroom was tastefully decorated and comfortably appointed with luxurious linens. Water in the shower was hot and plentiful.
That is very important to us after a day of traveling.
Breakfast is a multi-course gourmet experience!
We have stayed in many B&B's here and abroad and have never had a breakfast to match the one at Green Woods.
This is a special place and it is a real treat to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaFiVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is our favourite place to stay when in Kingston - Tessa and Nigel are friendly and warm, and willing to go the extra step to make you comfortable or keep you informed. The house is really a treasure, full of charm, and they keep it spotless. They're both also terrific chefs in the kitchen - their breakfasts are fantastic, offering both healthy options and something more substantial for those that love to eat! We both always sleep well here, and feel comfortable. It's the best value for the money but also the most enjoyable place we have found!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine154983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Our short stay at this charming B & B was wonderful. It was peaceful and only a 5 or 10 minute drive into Kingston. The property was beautiful and well-maintained. All four rooms were booked when we stayed and breakfast the next morning was fantastic...lots of fresh home-made food and engaging conversation with the other guests and the hosts. Tessa and Nigel even have a little shop in the guest lounge with special teas and ice-wine filled chocolates. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rustyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
6.0 mi away
Green Acres Inn
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
280 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
3.8 mi away
Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Woods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Woods Inn

Property: Green Woods Inn
Address: 1368 Highway 15, Kingston, Ontario K7L 0C4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Woods Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Rideau Heritage Tourism Route, Green Woods Inn is one of Kingston's finest Historic Inns. Offering a peacful setting in the city of Kingston, just minutes to the down town core and one mile south of Hwy 401. The Inn has been fully renovated with all rooms having fine cotton linens, luxurious private ensuite bathrooms, central air-conditioning and private on-ground guest parking. Our full gourmet breakfast helps to make your stay an extra-special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Green Woods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing