We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Frontenac Club Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frontenac Club Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Incredible Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This inn is really beautiful. The building is very old and has been kept in the original style. The ceilings must be at least 16 feet high even in the guest rooms. The rooms are really large and the price is very affordable.

The breakfast is very nice and the employees who work at the inn are very warm people. The service is friendly and efficient.

When we arrived it was not a very nice day weather-wise and we had been driving for a long time. We get to the door and come face-to-face with a sign that says "check-in is at 4h00". We try the door; it is locked. So we decide to ring even though it isn't 4h00 yet. The owner answers and comes down. The welcome was just so-so. I felt like we were intruding because we arrived a bit before 4h00. I suspect if one of the employees had answered the door we would have felt much more welcome.

The toiletries are good quality products but are provided in scarce quantities. They are not (or at least ours were not) replenished for a multi-night stay.

The really big disappointment is that there are no bathrobes provided. Perhaps the reason the room rates are so affordable is because they skimp on the amenities. I guess you can't have everything. The employees really helped make this an enjoyable stay.

The location was perfect. It is in walking distance to the water, the shops and the restaurants. There is a parking lot in the back for your car.

I would return here if I were in the area again and I might even venture to ring the bell before 4h00!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMR4roses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontenacClubInn, Owner at Frontenac Club Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We sincerely appreciate hearing from our guests and we do listen to your comments and will take action on suggestions.

My husband & I have just returned from a three week holiday (October 10th). It was the first time since the Inn opened in 2000 that we left the Inn with our staff soley in charge. We have significant confidence in our staff and trust them all without hesitation.

We regret that your first contact with the Inn was not welcoming. We always accommodate early check-ins, pre-arranged and those arriving earlier than expected. The staff person may have been upstairs checking all rooms prior to check-in and may have been uncertain if your room was ready. Our staff are very accommodating and if your room was not ready would have offered a comfy seat in our lounge and a cup of tea or coffee until your room was ready. I have followed up about your concern regarding bathroom amenities as we usually do replenish products daily. Sorry for our oversight. We will be discussing your comment regarding bathrobes at our next staff meeting.

We are very appreciative of your positive comments and hope you will return some day......we look forward to meeting you!

Thank you.
Susan Shaw - co-owner of the Frontenac Club Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    38
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
155
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Took a four day weekend to do some genealogy and Stayed at the Frontenac Club Inn. When we arrived we were greeted by a very nice man who welcomed us, gave us a tour of the facilities and the history behind the building. Very interesting. We were taken to our room which was huge. After unpacking my wife and I took a nice walk to Downtown Kingston, the water and to dinner. There were a lot of nice restaurants just a block or two away. The breakfast in the morning was amazing and our server was very nice and gave us some great places to see while we were there. All in all the trip was outstanding and the Inn and its staff were incredible. I have never had the same experience in a hotel. We plan on making Kingston a regular vacation destination and look forward to staying at the Frontenac again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Shen Zhao Suite. The room was in the back right off the street but there wasn't any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhowie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed at Frontenac Club for 2 nights recently. Quite a curt "welcome".....actually not a word of "welcome" at all, just here is your key and here is your room and "this is where the newspapers should be, but I guess someone has taken off with them again".

On the morning of our second day there the young lady asked us "if we needed our room cleaned"....for >$200/night I felt that having the room made up would be standard....

If you like to "sleep in" undisturbed be sure to book a room away from the main floor of the main house as once the breakfast service starts it is a bit noisy.

The breakfasts were nice-but definitely not over the top.....one morning it was fresh fruit and a waffle...with no option of egg/bacon/sausage etc. for example.

Not to be tooooo nit picky but for the price, and to be in keeping with many/most other B&B's we have stayed at it would be nice to see cookies or some sort of sweet nibble or fruit in the lounge area, and hand lotion and a shower cap in the guest rooms would be nice. Also it seemed a bit odd for this calibre of B&B to have plastic table cloths in the dining area.

As we had to leave promptly in the morning I tried to settle our bill on the evening prior to our departure but the fellow said we would have to do it in the morning. In the morning when I tried to check out the young lady was clearly not happy to be asked to do it during the breakfast service (which ran from 8-10am)....seemed it was never a good time to ask them to accept my $485. for my 2 night stay....

Aside from that it was a very nice stay in an interesting old building in the heart of Kingston!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forx2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is the old Bank of Montreal building from the 1800s, and has been carefully restored to retain character. Our room was huge and had views of the lake. You make morning tea in the old bank vault! The included breakfast was nice with fresh fruit and yoghurt followed by salmon and asparagus omelette. Slightly on the pricey side, but you are in the centre of Kingston.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timskitour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Delicious 4-course breakfast. Gigantic room with all the trimmings (office, living room with fireplace, big TV, couch & 2 cushy chairs, private walkout garden patio, bathroom with rain shower and body jets - we were in room 10 in the Cartwright House). Comfortable bed with strong AC. Gorgeous sitting area with jazz music always playing in the background. Outdoor garden sitting areas for all to enjoy - more than one! Historic building lovingly restored, including a mid-size conference room area that used to be a private bowling alley. Small fridge and microwave for guests to use. Water, tea and popcorn always available. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Great location within <10 minutes walking distance to the downtown core and 2 minutes to the waterfront. What's not to love??

My favorite spot is the corner window seat overlooking William Street, in the huge sitting area/ library/ games room & office space with computer that spans the entire length of the b&b. It is a peaceful & calming spot on a nice sunny day - you can read the paper or check your email using their free wifi while enjoying the nice breeze coming through the open window. Now made even more special since it is where my fiance proposed during this summer trip!!

I have stayed at other B&Bs in Kingston and this remains THE BEST place to stay and relax. Highly recommended! Be sure to book early.

Room Tip: The rooms are all nice but a few are on the third floor of the main building which requires you to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalani_in_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

A beautiful and unique inn with excellent food. We had a very comfortable stay in a lovely room. The staff were very accommodating of dietary restrictions and the breakfast was wonderful. We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CdnTraveller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a lovely B&B! We recently spent a night here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We arrived late and left early so didn't get to enjoy much that the Inn had to offer, including an outside patio & sitting rooms. We stayed in the Stone Room - the shower was unbelievable! Huge, with a rain shower and body jets - I'd go back again just for that!
Inn was perfectly located with an easy walk to restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#14 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
2.4 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontenac Club Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontenac Club Inn

Property: Frontenac Club Inn
Address: 225 King Street East | Kingston, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frontenac Club Inn, located in the heart of Kingston's historic downtown, is a block from Lake Ontario and close to Queen's University. It's a short walk to boat tours, theaters, restaurants (from informal to gourmet), great independent shops, art galleries, museums and the K-ROCK Centre. In a city known for its historic charm, beautiful waterfront and architectural treasures, the Frontenac Club Inn provides a special place to stay and enjoy all that Kingston, Prince Edward County and the 1000 Islands have to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontenac Club Hotel Kingston
Frontenac Club Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing