We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B in the heart of Kingston”
Review of Frontenac Club Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Frontenac Club Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B in the heart of Kingston”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here several times over the years. We have always enjoyed our stay at this quiet inn. The rooms are nicely decorated, the beds comfortable and the breakfast very good. The location is perfect, about a 5 minute walk to restaurants and shops but away from noisy main streets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    39
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
163
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have been at this fabulous Inn 4 times and already have booked another for early November. Coming from Ottawa ( boring!)....we simply love the ambiance, the history and the accommodations. Both of us have European ties and fully appreciate the history and culture of Kingston and this limestone beauty. Each stay becomes a new adventure and are never repetitive. The breakfast of Frontenac eggs Benedict is to die for!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had an excellent stay at this historic Inn. We stayed in the Miller Suite; one of the Inn's newly renovated/opened rooms. It was a cozy suite complete with a bedroom, bathroom, and living room with a lovely gas fireplace. It also had a balcony with a nice view. The suite had an old style charm complimented with modern amenities (e.g., flat-screen TV, wireless internet, etc.). The house-keeping staff did an excellent job because everything was very clean and well maintained before and during our visit.

The complimentary breakfasts were fantastic! They had something new every morning and everything was prepared to your preferences. It certainly wasn't your typical cookie cutter breakfast that leaves you hungry after 2 hours.

The location of the Frontenac Club Inn was superb! The Inn was situated downtown; this meant it was less than a 5 minute walk to a wide variety of restaurants, bars, the Lake Ontario waterfront, touristy areas, and other points of interest. Even though the Inn is situated near the downtown, in and around the Inn was quiet (i.e., little traffic noise, no loud businesses, etc.).

We would certainly recommend the Frontenac Club Inn to anyone who is interested in staying in a historic place that has all of the necessary modern amenities.

Some points to consider:
-If you are traveling with more than one vehicle or with a trailer, you will need to speak with the front desk before reserving a room as parking space is limited (i.e., enough for one vehicle for each room).
-The inn is geared towards couples and business travelers. It doesn't offer a lot to families with small children.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have pictures on the Frontenac Club Inn website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhamersma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent one night in the Peterson Room. A very nice room. My one criticism was that, although the bathroom is very pretty, it is not particularly functional - although the clean towels are nicely stacked on a shelf, once they are used, there is nowhere to hang them. Similarly, once in the tub/shower, there is no place to put a bar of soap or toiletries. And in the main room, once the drapes were rolled down for the night, it was impossible to get them back up in the morning.

We enjoyed the beautiful sitting room and the good breakfast. The breakfast service was a little spotty, somewhat surprisingly, since there were only a few other people eating when we were (possibly one of the servers was new, but I am only speculating). Still, I would be happy to go back there. It is close to absolutely everything downtown, and very good value compared to the higher end hotels nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Had a great one sight stay at this wonderfully restored historic Inn. We had the two room Cooke suite which was very comfortable. The bed was extremely comfortable and the walk in overhead shower was a real treat. They had Aveda product which are always nice. The Inn is in a great location walkable to restaurants and the waterfront. We were treated like old friends and encouraged to use the sitting room and make yourself at home. They share the rich history of the property which added to the experience. But the best part was the gormet breakfast. The sourdough bread was fresh and delicious. The Irish oatmeal was wonderful and the poached egg over smoked salmon was expertly prepared with garden fresh herbs. We only wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gratzparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great location within walking distance of everything downtown. Excellent bed - oh so comfy. Our room (King 3rd floor) was spacious and had everything we needed and more. The service was great and the historical information at check-in was interesting and appreciated. We loved the breakfast and 3 breakfast rooms. The gardens are a beautiful tranquil place to relax especially in the heat this summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotia_Breeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed at the Frontenac Club Inn for 4 nights in August and I was more than impressed with the property and guest services. The inn has about 16 rooms spread across the main, second and third floor. We stayed in the Chisolm Room (#9) for 3 nights. This room was spacious and bright with a view of the lake. The Chisolm Room is on the 3rd floor and requires guests to ascend several flights of stairs to access, so be aware of this before booking. On the last night we stayed in the Peterson Room (#5), we booked this trip last minute and therefore were required to change rooms for the final night, we didn't mind because it gave us an opportunity to see another room. The Peterson Room is actually 2 separate rooms, a bedroom with fireplace and chairs and an office with a desk adjacent to the bathroom. Both rooms were nicely decorated combining modern and antique furnishing, which was great because the last thing you want is to feel like you are in your great grandmothers bedroom.

The breakfast was another highlight, each day breakfast consisted of juice, coffee/tea, rolls w/ jam, yogurt & granola or Irish oatmeal as well as the chefs specials of the day. During our stay were had waffles, omelettes, smoked salmon eggs Benedict and stuffed french toast. Most days there was a choice for the main breakfast item (ie choice of omelette filling incl. pear and brie!). The service at breakfast was fast and friendly. There is a selection of tea available for guests throughout the day.

The inn keepers went out of their way during our stay including obtaining tickets to a show at Fort Henry.

Overall, I would recommend this B&B for adults looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway, it is reasonably priced considering the quality, service and convenient location.

Room Tip: Inquire as to the location of each room as many stairs may be involved!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Take_Me_Away85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
2.4 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
963 reviews
0.3 mi away
Confederation Place Hotel
Confederation Place Hotel
#27 of 37 in Kingston
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontenac Club Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontenac Club Inn

Property: Frontenac Club Inn
Address: 225 King Street East | Kingston, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frontenac Club Inn, located in the heart of Kingston's historic downtown, is a block from Lake Ontario and close to Queen's University. It's a short walk to boat tours, theaters, restaurants (from informal to gourmet), great independent shops, art galleries, museums and the K-ROCK Centre. In a city known for its historic charm, beautiful waterfront and architectural treasures, the Frontenac Club Inn provides a special place to stay and enjoy all that Kingston, Prince Edward County and the 1000 Islands have to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontenac Club Hotel Kingston
Frontenac Club Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing