We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and cozy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frontenac Club Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frontenac Club Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Charming and cozy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We will absolutely be recommending this lovely spot to others - the building is incredibly charming and guests are welcome to make themselves at home and use the amenities. We stayed in the Stone Room, which was cozy and gorgeous, and to our surprise, included a private patio. The hotel has been done up to an impeccable standard. We loved our stay! Joe - who checked us in - was friendly, helpful and willing to share the history of the building while showing us around the inn. Our room was on the main floor which caused us to worry about noise, especially from breakfast, but that wasn't the case. It was a very peaceful stay! The only thing I would change (and this was so minor that it didn't detract at all from how pleasant our stay was) would be a bit of a choice at breakfast rather than one main dish on offer - although the food was to an incredibly high standard. The location is ideal, within in walking distance of many attractions and the high street. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    38
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
155
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

spent a weekend at this lovely inn. Loacted in the heart of the action, it is a historoic propoery that was lovingly restored. The innkeepres ensure you are cmfortable and are welcome to use the amenites. Breakfast is expertly prepared, served with with a smile and was delicious.

Room Tip: the description of the rooms on the Inn's website are reliable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacances04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I spent the weekend at the Frontenac Club in Kingston in mid-June 2012. It was wonderful! The rooms are lovely (we stayed in the Currie Suite) spacious and tastefully and comfortably decorated. The property - both interior and exterior - is nicely designed, and clearly meant to instill a sense of restfulness and peace during visits. I particularly loved picking up the paper every morning and sitting in the small garden to read. The breakfasts were also excellent, with a number of courses including fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, eggs, french toast etc. Service was also very good. All in all a great experience and one I would definintely return to.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Currie room, however all of the rooms looked very nice. Hard to make a bad choice I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vcbalderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here at the Inn due to a wedding we needed to attend in the downtown area of Kingston. We were quite happy with the charm of the building, the decor of the rooms, the easily accessible parking, and well rounded breakfast served to us.

It was the type of place we felt we could comfortably bring our kids to, and enjoy - however, understanding our children are still young based on the age recommendation - we will wait to do that.

The location is great. Really close to the waterfront, and main strip of shopping.

We would definitely go back if we found ourselves back in Kingston for a weekend.

Room Tip: The Chisholm room was quite spacious considering it was one of the cheaper rooms you could book ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mummyTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterdown, ON
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed here on business, and it was a great change from cookie cutter hotels. Very nice building and comfortable sitting areas. I stayed in the Chisolm room which was very nice. Very comfortable and nicely decorated. Not over the top decorations either where you are afraid to touch anything because it's so delicate. Beautiful garden area with lots of seating and tables under a big tree. Owner was very nice too. Lots of free parking, and walking distance to lots of restaurants etc. Would stay here again for sure. Great breakfast also.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Chisolm room-nice view of the lake, but you have to hoof it to the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here when we were in Kingston to attend a concert at the KRock Centre and thought the inn was the high lite of the weekend. The room was great, it had a separate , enclosed sitting area with the TV and the fireplace. It was summer so we did not try the fireplace, but it was great for my husband to watch TV and not disturb me, while I read and sat on the balcony overlooking the lake.
My husband commented he would have preferred a room in the main building, as we had to go outside to get to breakfast etc, but it was summer and no real problem. The room more than made up for it.
The inn is wonderfully located to wander around Kingston, and other than when we went to Fort Henry the car never moved out of the parking lot.
I would highly recommend the inn as a great place to stay and good value.

Room Tip: Cooke's suite in the annex was lovely. In winter you may prefer a room in the main inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWMBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

This lovely old stone building has tremendous character. I very much look forward to staying here again during my next trip and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants an authentic stay in old Kingston. I stayed in the Sandburg suite which was enormous, had a corner bedroom with two monstrous windows, a corner sitting room with two equally huge windows, and a bathroom with a jacuzzi tub and another huge window. There was so much natural light that I didn't turn on the lights my entire stay. What isn't original has been frequently refurbished with character replacements (Restoration Hardware). The location could not be better. Close enough to walk to everything in most things in historic Kingston including Queen's University campus, and just one block from the Pilot House (a great little pub I frequented far too often in my university days). On Saturdays in summer the farmers market is just a block away; it is small but has tremendous produce. There is free Wifi throughout the property, in room air conditioning, the public lounge on the main floor is large and comfortably furnished. Guests have access to a lending library, small fridge and microwave, popcorn, wineglasses and tea (bring a robe if you plan to wander down from your room late at night for tea, none are provided). There is small yard which would be lovely to spend an afternoon or evening in summer. A couple of things to note: the ceilings are high which means there are a lot of stairs to climb (unless you can carry your bags up several long flights of stairs, this might not be a good choice for your stay ... however, you could stay ground floor on the property but in an adjacent building), and the windows have the old original wooden folding shutters (so they are lovely to look at but they are not the most effective at blocking out light). Breakfast was very good; I have had better breakfasts and I have had much worse; nothing to complain about but nothing to write home about either.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy12388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#14 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontenac Club Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontenac Club Inn

Property: Frontenac Club Inn
Address: 225 King Street East | Kingston, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frontenac Club Inn, located in the heart of Kingston's historic downtown, is a block from Lake Ontario and close to Queen's University. It's a short walk to boat tours, theaters, restaurants (from informal to gourmet), great independent shops, art galleries, museums and the K-ROCK Centre. In a city known for its historic charm, beautiful waterfront and architectural treasures, the Frontenac Club Inn provides a special place to stay and enjoy all that Kingston, Prince Edward County and the 1000 Islands have to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontenac Club Hotel Kingston
Frontenac Club Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing