We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in a comfortable Inn”
Review of Frontenac Club Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frontenac Club Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay in a comfortable Inn”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed for a weekend while in town for a wedding and enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was very large with a newly renovated bathroom with Aveda toiletries. Our bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious each morning - omlettes one day, homemade waffles the next. The outdoor courtyard was lovely. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: check out rooms online
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauriebla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    38
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
156
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a quaint Inn with some great restaurants close by and we found it all in 1 place. Only 1 block from the water and 2 blocks from down town. It was perfection!!
We were in the Stone Room it was very clean, well decorated you almost felt as though you were in a B&B in Scotland . Nice added feature was a back door leading to a cute little almost private patio where you could sit and relax with a glass of wine or cold beer and a cigarette.
We had a pub lunch at The Kingston Brewing Company very funny menu with one item that made me laugh!! It was called The High Roller it included Dom Pérignon and double serving of wings for $236.00. Dinner was at The Curry Original amazing Indian food with great service.
Our breakfast was a 3 course meal with fresh fruit& yogurt, 2 choices of oatmeal and wonderful oat waffles topped with bananas. It was cooked by the owner Beare who also visited our table to chat about the history of the Inn and things about & around the town.
Everyone was so pleasant & very helpful!
We would both go back in a minute!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canwatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This was a last minute trip, so the majority of rooms were already booked. We ended up in room 11, The Shen Zhow Suite, on the ground floor of the secondary Cartwright House. Quiet, though we had the windows closed and AC on. Because the space is divided up like a small apartment, which it was at one time, we didn't get to enjoy the space(living area with sofa and tv, desk and chair) as we were only there for one night. The room was a bit utilitarian, the bathroom quite small. The bed was comfy. The walk in shower was spacious. The gardens were very nice, but we didn't get to sit in them due to torrential rain the day we arrived. The breakfast rooms were bright and the food was good, service very friendly. Great location. The main sitting areas in the main inn were bright and comfortable although hot, only a large fan in one part. We would consider a return visit, but in a different room.

Room Tip: Check out the room options carefully and book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdngrl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Centrally located - close to everything we wanted to see and do in Kingston. This Inn is well managed: clean, quiet, comfortable and breakfast second to none, plus there was parking. We loved it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoEurotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We had tea in the vault and slept in an office with a magnificent view of the water... This solidly built, amazingly comfortable B&B was originally a Bank of Montreal, then a private club, student housing and who knows what else?! But it's found it's calling as a beautifully restored B&B with loads of character and thankfully not haunted (others apparently have ghosts).
The Chisholm room was spacious with high ceilings, a flat screen TV with all the channels, a huge bathroom with large tub--the bed must have been comfortable--I slept so well--also being an old stone building, the sound insulation was unparalleled.
The location is a short walk from the historic center of town with all the shops and lots of great pubs, bistros and restaurants. There are many cultural activities and live music to enjoy in this area as well.
The owners are on hand sleeves rolled up wearing aprons serving breakfast and together with the rest of their staff are absolutely lovely. Breakfasts were delicious and served in delightful rooms with big French doors facing the garden. My only wish would be for better coffee--being totally spoilt with daily freshly roasted organic fair trade coffee...

Room Tip: Big rooms with high ceilings mean the stairs are also considerable...3rd floor might be difficult fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marliepowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Suffolk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed here for one night on a touring holiday of Ontario, Quebec and into New England. We chose Kingston as a break on the route from Toronto to Montreal. As soon as we walked into the Frontenac Club Inn we were immediately put at our ease by the friendly welcome and the beautiful interior of this building renovated from an old bank. Stunning interiors, stylishly decorated but with great thought to the guests - relaxed lounge areas, outside seating in a quiet courtyard, tea and coffee facilities for self service, books, games, newpapers, the lot.

We stayed in a room in the annex building (not accessible directly from the main house, but no problem there), which was beautifully prepared, very clean, uncluttered but full of charm. We had a separate living area, bedroom and shower room with period features in abundance but with modern facilities. They had thought of everything, from tourist information, free wired internet access, and plenty of towels and toiletries provided.

The local knowledge we were given was excellent. We were given ideas of areas to walk around and a very good dinner recommendation (Le Chein Noir).

Breakfast was served in a series of renovated rooms in the main house with the central point an open plan kitchen that was just beautiful. The passion of all the staff to ensure you were happy and ate well was superb and the breakfast, home-cooked speciality we had was stuffed french toast, just brilliant. One of the best B&B experiences we've had anywhere in the world. If only there was more in Kingston to have kept us there!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agoodwin00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Overall, a very pleasant stay at the Frontenac Club Inn! The Stone room was beautiful and well kept. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MolAndMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#14 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
2.4 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontenac Club Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontenac Club Inn

Property: Frontenac Club Inn
Address: 225 King Street East | Kingston, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frontenac Club Inn, located in the heart of Kingston's historic downtown, is a block from Lake Ontario and close to Queen's University. It's a short walk to boat tours, theaters, restaurants (from informal to gourmet), great independent shops, art galleries, museums and the K-ROCK Centre. In a city known for its historic charm, beautiful waterfront and architectural treasures, the Frontenac Club Inn provides a special place to stay and enjoy all that Kingston, Prince Edward County and the 1000 Islands have to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontenac Club Hotel Kingston
Frontenac Club Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing