We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were treated like family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Cherry Place Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Cherry Place Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Scotia, NY
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“We were treated like family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, Cheryl and Bob have opened up their large family home for overnight stays. Although we arrived a bit early and they were out doing errands, they left us a tour book of Kingston with several areas highlighted on the map. The house is only a few blocks away from Front Street which becomes King Street taking you downtown.
Where we stayed was more of a suite where an entire family could stay. Tastefully decorated and immaculate we were so impressed as my wife was with me for having selected a Cherry Place!
Breakfast in the morning was in their formal dining room where we were treated to fruit, a homemade granola mix, a toasted grain bread that was freshly baked, jams, orange juice and eggs Benedict. the other couple at the table were from France and Bob spoke French very well to include us in the conversation. With Bob and Cheryl we shared stories of our families and by the time we left we felt as if we had known them for years. As I write this I am remembering how pleasant our stay was and can't wait to recommend a Cherry Place to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScotiaCantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    1
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
48
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at this wonderfull BNB for three nights on our way to a wedding in Oshawa. The house is very nice, in a quiet neighbourhood. We slept in two different rooms which were both very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was tasty. But made our stay excellent were the hosts. Bob and Cheryl are the most kind and friendly persons. They made us feel welcomed and gave us lots of informations on Kingston, on activities to do and on restaurants. It was so pleasant to chat with them. You wont get that kind of experience in a hotel. We highly recommend this BNB.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CYLVIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night as a stopover on our way to Montreal. This was our first bed and breakfast in a line of them that we stayed in during our road trip, and A Cherry Place stood up to the best of them.

The hosts know how to run a clean and comfortable bed and breakfast, while truly wanting to engage with you and learn more about you.

I cannot say enough about their friendliness, but seeing the amount of positive reviews, it doesn't look like I have to. Everyone who stays with them comes away feeling great about the experience.

Though we were unable to experience Kingston much during our stay, we plan on returning and taking advantage of A Cherry Place again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fightingwithavim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

I was in Kingston on business and arrived late at night. The B&B is located in a subdivision, rather than downtown and has a very "staying with friends" kind of feel. My room was beautiful with a comfortable bed and very quiet, relaxing atmosphere, along with a bath area that was sparkling clean and spaciouis. I was up early and greeted with very friendly hosts, a wonderful breakfast and then was on my way. I really wish I could have stayed longer to fully experience the spot. Overall, it was a great value and would recommend it highly to anyone passing through.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank snorkelspaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

My partner and I spent one night at A Cherry Place and will most definitely be back. We stayed in a beautiful and large room complete with large flat screen television, private bathroom with large walk in shower, wonderful brass bed and beautiful view from the private balcony.

The weather wasn't the greatest so we will be going back most likely to enjoy our anniversary next summer.


The breakfast served by our hostess Cheryl was stupendous...homemade jams, granola cereal, waffles and breads/toast. Conversation with Bob and Cheryl was fun, and a pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KellyO1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed one night in the large downstairs apartment-type room, and had a really nice stay. The house is in pristine condition, in a nice safe suburban area 10-12 minutes west of downtown Kingston, and very well-appointed. The hosts were very pleasant and welcoming, and the breakfast was very good - museli and a lovely fresh fruit bowl, home made bread and jams, waffles with local maple syrup.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DandDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
301 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Bob & Cheryl were such good hosts, offering wonderful breakfasts and engaging conversation along with precise tourist information that enhanced our local travels greatly.
They helped guide our 3-day stay, so as to maximize our opportunities to discover the best in the Kingston area.
Bon voyages,
Paul & Sandra

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tryharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
5.1 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
2.8 mi away
Green Acres Inn
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#14 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
5.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
4.7 mi away
Rosemount B&B Inn
Rosemount B&B Inn
#3 of 22 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Cherry Place Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Cherry Place Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Cherry Place Bed and Breakfast
Address: 899 Brodie Ave, Kingston, Ontario K7M 4P8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
A Cherry Place Bed And Breakfast Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing