We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Way to See Kingston”

Kingston Trolley Tours
Ranked #4 of 17 Tours in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Kingston's Red Trolleys. Explore with a Hop On Hop Off tour of historic Kingston, Canada's First Capital. The city has 21 National Historic sites and a UNESCO World Heritage designation. Your Hop on, Hop off Ticket includes admission or discounts to many of the City's 24 museums and galleries. Available as part of a K-PASS Package.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Way to See Kingston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a great way to see Kingston without driving around. They offer a "hop on hop off" service which allows you to get off and some of the stops and visit the site and then continue with the trolley tour later on. It is a great introduction to Kingston and a good way to stake out the area and see some of the best attractions. They had some interesting history of Kingston but all of the commentary was done through a recording - it would have been a little nicer if it was a real person. The driver - Rhonda - was wonderful. Very friendly and welcoming and seemed knowledgeable about Kingston.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OreoMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    39
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eustis, Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice way to get around.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The trolley takes you through a kind of "best of" for the city of Kingston, Canada's first capitol. You can get on and off at various sights throughout the day to allow you to see what you would like to without having to drive yourself all over.
I've done many trolley tours on my travels and this one was slightly different from the rest. The tour is mostly prerecorded and the driver just plays the segments as we get closer to the corresponding area, which is ok, unless the traffic slows down the trolley's progress, then things get a little bit off kilter. Also, Um.... whenever, um..., our driver, ah..., decided to , um... add in some additional information, or uh....... color commentary to the, uh....., tour, he, uh.. was, um.... slightly annoying to, uh...listen to. He might have been new, but, if you're going to be a tour guide, you should at least be able to speak without says "um" every third word!! He should've just stuck with the recording!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gpisces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lots to take in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

the bus tour takes about an hour, with the option on getting on an off the bus. Didn't think there was much to Kingston until I went on this bus tour. Well worth the trip!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roslyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Great introduction to the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We took the trolly tour during our trip to Kingston last year and I would highly recommend it especially if you’re a first time visitor. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and did a great job of pointing out interesting and iconic landmarks. Highlights of the tour include a visit to The Royal Military College, Queens University, and the Southern Waterfront. Also lots of great photo opportunities, don’t forget your camera!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeusthecockapoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingston Trolley Tours also viewed

 

Been to Kingston Trolley Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing