We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food!”

Captain George's Fish & Chips
Ranked #83 of 428 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ontario
Level Contributor
199 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We've tried Captain George's twice now and really enjoyed it both times. It's somewhat pricey but food is always hot and fresh. My husband loves their burgers and fries. Gravy is hit and miss...the first time we tried it it was really watery but the second time was fine. We'll definitely be back!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank supergirlteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario,
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, great servcise and nice ambience”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This little gem of a seafood restaurant is tucked into a small mall directly across from the Rio Can Centre. When looking for a place to eat we look for cleanliness, good food and friendly service.
This little restaurant has it all. Plus the best fish and chips we've ever had in Kingston.

Without hesitation, I can say we will return to this established many times. Congratulations to the owner and staff for making our dining experience so excellent

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowbird42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing salad dressing”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The salad dressing here is amazing. Its a homemade Greek dressing and if you haven't tried it you must. Fries are plentiful, and fish has a great batter. Prices are really great considering u can opt for a salad fries and fish.

Helpful?
Thank Tabattha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good scallops”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Enjoyed the scallops, but the fish was dry. Service was good.
Atmosphere was like a diner. Not sure if it was just an off day for the fish or not.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston,Ontario
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great seafood”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This little restaurant situated uptown in Kingston is a great place for seafood. Our favourite is the haddock and fries.
The food is fast and affordable.
We generally order take out and by the time we arrive its ready and waiting.
Last time I was there, I ordered and waited for the take out. They brought it out to the car!
The staff is very nice and alot of seniors seem to hang out here for meals…must mean something!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain George's Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Captain George's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing