We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty decent”

Captain George's Fish & Chips
Ranked #87 of 429 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty decent”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good service, we got take out but the guy was very friendly even though it was closing time. Bit expensive, but pretty good food, decent portion of fish and chips. I would go again, probably not eat in though, not the best decor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Eat the fish, skip the chips”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The service is prompt in the very basic dining room. The fish was perfectly battered and fried and the accompanying tartar sauce tasty. The chips were soggy and not fresh tasting. Prices are very reasonable. Next time we will skip the chips.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KTSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Greasy but good!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Not a healthy meal if your worried about it. Some of the batter was falling off the fish it was so greasy but it was cooked threw and pretty good for an afternoon snack. No complaints on portion size. Interior was tacky and girl at the counter was friendly. Older man who is possibly the owner was not friendly.
Would go back for the same food but not highly recommended. Just an afternoon snack. Tartar sauce was good. Fries are the average. In all it was good but nothing to write home about.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodxplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Have been there for take-out a couple of times during lunch hour. The portions of fish are rather small. Lots of fries but I found them rather greasy.. Will do in a pinch if you're in a hurry, but not my favourite. The girl on the counter was super friendly although the older gentleman who I assume was the owner certainly could use a friendlier demeanour.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain George's Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Captain George's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing