We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still new - some kinks but promising”
Review of Gina's BBQ Smokehouse - CLOSED

Gina's BBQ Smokehouse
Price range: $4 - $11
Cuisines: Barbecue, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Description: L. A. Bob's Smokehouse is a sit-down or take out restaurant featuring a smoked meat and BBQ style menu. Dishes include pulled pork sandwiches, Montreal smoked meat on rye, smoked ribs, hamburgers, burritos, soups, salads, fish and chips and our signature smoked beer can chicken! We are open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner, 11 am to 8 pm. Catering also available. We are located at 1759 Bath Road Kingston, beside the Frontenac Secondary School.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Still new - some kinks but promising”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This restaurant is a much needed addition to an area of Kingston which has mostly mediocre restaurants especially when it comes to breakfast. I went for breakfast recently and had the smoked meat and eggs. The smoked meat was very good, as were the home fries. The eggs were slightly underdone, but the excellent service just about made up for it. The young men who work the breakfast are eager to please and eager to see the restaurant succeed. They are charming, personable and a welcome addition to the neighbourhood. I hope for their sake that they do well, and that they learn to leave the eggs on just a fraction longer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“Best BBQ Ribs in town...”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Craving ribs or smoked anything then Gina's is the place. The portion sizes were huge, the service was great and pricing was excellent. Take it from a person who eats out a lot, this is a must try and see for yourself. Keep up the good work guys and I'll be back soon!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rebecca c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Smoke house in kingston? Great Idea”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I have been to Gina's a number of times and every time i have been impressed with the food and service. Below are some of the items i have had so far.

Ribs. I read the review from Greg Berliuk from the whig standard and wanted to check it out for myself. when i walked in there was a full house which was a great sign. when i sat down i was approached by the owner who at the time was also helping out serving food. He suggested that i try the ribs so i did and wow.. the ribs were a hickory smoked, fall off the bone delight with their own secret sauce. Even the fries were very tasty.

i came back a week later and had the pulled pork sandwich: Another great dish that had so much flavor. it was moist and a little messy but that's what pulled pork is.. I really enjoyed it and would definitely order that again.

Smoked meat: Very nice sandwich and i was very impressed with the flavor of this meat. Im not sure if i would order it again as im not a avid smoke meat eater. but i liked it.

to sum it up i have been there 3 times and i really enjoyed the food. I will be back for sure.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
508 reviews
461 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“a new place with no clue”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

had lunch here the other day ..had a half rack ribs with creamy coleslaw and fries. I hate to diss a new place but when inexperienced owners take a crack at the industry they should have some idea what they are doing and what ticks off customers...the little details...first off the floor was so greasy and slippery from a dirty mop it was unreal..my chair wouldnt stay still..

second... plating..when you plate food you don't just dump food on the plate....my fries were totally covered by the half rack..when it comes to my table what is the first thing I want to do?...put vinegar salt and ketchup on them ..where do i put the ribs?....solution larger proper plates

next the creamy coleslaw wasn't..the mayo had separated into cabbage and a liquid milk...solution...prepared too far in advance

the salt pepper shaker, vinegar and ketchup containers were greasy from other patrons...solution...clean the darn things ..after every seating yuk!
where are the wet wipes when eating ribs?

finally the owners barking problems back and forth to each other became VERY annoying, should be kept for the back room not in the dining area despite the open kitchen.

sorry but since the closing of Bon Appetite here a very popular and good restaurant. here..the short lived "the take out place" and now Ginas..better smarten up ..its takes months even years to build up clientele with good word of mouth advertising...seconds to lose them with not paying attention to details.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank thephoenixrisesagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gina's BBQ Smokehouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing