We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great chicken wings”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mom's Chicken - CLOSED

Mom's Chicken
Cuisines: Fast Food, Canadian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great chicken wings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

It was my first time at mom's (I had a free sample coupon that I wanted to try out). The fried chicken was amazing. Honestly some of the best I've had, although I must admit I haven't had much. I then ordered the chicken wings with BBQ sauce to bring home with me. They were fantastic. I was very impressed. Although I must admit. The service was kind of awkward and not all that well organized. I think the manager is kind of awkward and he was training some new girl who could care less to be there. They liscenced their store to serve beer but I just don't really get it. It's like a take out place, that treats it kind of like a sit down restaurant. I think they would do better focusing on improving the speed of service and better training for the staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Staff require Better Training”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Mixed reviews on this one. When the manager is in, the food quality and preparation as well as delivery is near perfect.
No manager present, quality drops severely. Several bones to be found in the hot chicken sandwiches, prep cooks unable to tell between white meat and dark meat, 2 pc chicken deal gets you 2 small wings, sometimes get charged full price for specials, cashier staff don't know the menu let alone specials, and poor attitude.
As far as them looking for more business like group orders or repeat customers, their hired staff don't appear to encourage this.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KCPTECH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“Best chicken in Kingston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Mom's chicken is great there chicken is jusiy the have nice appetizers the service is good my only councer is the mash potato is dry and the best part is the fried chicken is tender and the rotessitre chicken is jusiy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovegod7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Fried Chicken in Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Mom's chicken is the only place where you can get both fried chicken and rotisserie chicken so my family was excited to try. My daughter had the quarter chicken dinner and loved the seasoning. The chicken was very similar to Swiss Chalet but a bit cheaper. The fries were WAY better. I had the fried chicken and it was the juciest fried chicken I have ever had. The skin was crispy and delicious and the inside was so tender. So much better then KFC. Some of the reviews have been up and down. I think since it is very pretty new they are probably working out the kinks but the chicken was great both times we have had it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluesfan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor service, poor food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Was excited to see a chicken place downtown and the first 2 visits were nice but then my excitement turned to disappointment and then frustration. Last 3 visits the food was very greasy and obviously sitting around for some time. And the last and I'm sure you will be able to tell my final visit, they messed my order up, so when I'm took the order and receipt to show the girl. She took it to the cook and then came back out and said no your order was right. I said look at my food, it's wrong . She went back again to cook, came back and said we have no more chicken, sorry!!!! I said excuse me, a chicken restraint that has no more chicken? She went back again to cook and then told me sorry, it will take at least 15 minutes to cook you more chicken. By this time my messed up order was cold ... So that was my final visit. Seems without her phone to text, she would have been very bored that day at work..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gatorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mom's Chicken also viewed

 
Kingston, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing