We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thriftlodge Kingston
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good service”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

It was late at night and the Peachtree Inn was recommended to us by another hotel that had no rooms. It turned out to be great. Not only were the rooms clean and comfortable, but the free breakfast was delicious, the staff was kind and the rate was reasonable. It wasn't fancy, but we didn't need fancy, we needed comfort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Peachtree Inn, we look forward to having you come back and stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    84
    97
    42
    35
See reviews for
107
95
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I as well as one of my daughters and her family had occasion to stay at the Inn and we can say without any reservations it surpassed our expectations and we will definitely stay here again when we visit our other daughter who lives in Kingston. The staff were very, very friendly and accommodating. Our rooms were much more spacious than expected and while the bed was older it was still very comfortable. My only suggestion would be regarding the continental breakfast which is included. If you could add a waffle maker it would be very much appreciated. Other than that everything was fresh and plentiful. We also found the rate per room quite reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Peachtree Inn, we value your comments and make sure we pass them on to the appropriate departments. We look forward to having you come back and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is by far the worst I have stayed in over my years of travel, whether it be sports teams or business. Walls were paper thin, management didnt handle complaints period. The room itself is the only marginal thing about this hotel. I set up a trip for a sports team. Each room had credit cards for each individual room and not a single noise complaint from anyone in the hotel. I was the go to if there was and nothing was forwarded to me, not a call not a knock on the door. NOTHING. I will also point out there was one other sports team in the hotel that night. Yet upon check out, reception tried to charge me for 3 additional rooms because they had so many complaints. I repeat, no calls were made, no complaints were made, and no other rooms were charged or called either for that matter. Management could not say what rooms were loud, not that it was even one of our rooms.

After several attempts this hotel is yet to return a call after numerous messages. Poor hotel, Worse management.

I hope this hotel closes, this is not what anyone should have to go through regardless of price.
Dispicable.

Room Tip: Dont stay here. Walls paper thin. Literally. Hear every word from every conversation in each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, General Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
This guest booked a block of rooms for a rugby team and guaranteed and paid for the rooms with his credit card. On the second night of the stay the team became highly intoxicated causing noise disturbances throughout the hotel including a couple of rooms who were staying to attend a funeral.

Due to the unruly behaviour the team was asked to pay for two rooms that were unable to obtain any sleep despite the staff trying to control the drunken team.

The hotel
Manager was present at checkout and was told by the guest he would be calling a lawyer. The team leader continued to threaten legal action when contacted by the sales manager and the manager already having dealt with the situation would not be calling to be verbally abused.

At the Peachtree Inn unruly behaviour will NOT be tolerated without consequence so if you are looking for a hotel to party in this is not the place for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Expensive, $155.00 for a run down, dark, dingy room, and the sun was shining. Drapes hanging off the rod, stunk of damp, felt damp, window dripping water. From the first phone call I had an awful sense of what was to come. There were no other options, the city was booked up & mine was an emergency trip. There was no customer service. Not a thank you, how was you stay, please come again. Complimentary breakfast was less than sparse with no presentation. Stale muffins, bagels from the bag, fruit consisted of oranges cut in wedges. On the positive, the Best Western Fireside is next door with two great options for better and casual dinning. My daughter & I had a great meal together at the Bistro.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ds M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Peachtree Inn, we would really like to get to the bottom of the issues you had, as we have always prided ourselves with the Customer Service we offer. Please contact me

Betty Ann Desharnais
Sales Manager

613-546-4411
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was my second stay at the Peachtree. An older, a bit run-down hotel that is badly in need of an update. Certainly, excellent value for the money (we were given a fantastic rate for booking two successive nights). Breakfast (included!) was marginal - sort of what you'd expect in your own kitchen if your stove was broken. (Toast, bagel, jam, peanut butter, cereal, coffee). Very old & noisy in-room HVAC; ancient TV (with funny colours); poor in-room lighting; incredibly old and uncomfortably soft beds. On the bright side, an absolutely excellent shower! (Very important to me.)

The hotel is located not far from the centre of town and includes in-door parking. Given the much higher costs of other Kingston hotels, I'd certainly return - but hope that they soon replace those dreadful mattresses!

As I said in the headline, it *was* clean! Old - but clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rennickr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Peachtree Inn, we value you comments and are taking corrective action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Booked an overnight stay on a whim at March Break 2013. Went online, wanted something that had free parking, a continental breaklfast, 2 double beds, less than 10 min to downtown Kingston and cost less than 100.00 CDN with taxes included. I booked online and then called to confirm our reservation. When I spoke to the front desk, they were helpful and friendly. When we arrived, we parked right at the front entrance, (lots of parking) and were greeted with a cheerful. engaging staff. For the price point, it is a great budget hotel. We weren't there for a spa weekend - just some good clean beds, a clean bathroom, and located close to the downtown. I score it excellent based on my criteria - we were out of the room more than in it, and we were very pleased with what we got.And yes - it is definitely budget - this is the quintessential budget motel.It was perfect for us. If you are looking for a cost friendly place that feels like they care about having your business, my money is on the Peachtree Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefbear007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we are pleasured you had a great stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Peachtree Inn is centrally located. The room was clean and spacious. The mattress on one of the beds should be repalced. The continental breakfast was a little sparse. For the cost the accommodations were quite appropriate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Peachtree Inn, your comments are taken serious and will be looked into.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Super 8 Kingston
#10 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thriftlodge Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thriftlodge Kingston

Property: Thriftlodge Kingston
Address: 1187 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E1, Canada (Formerly Peachtree Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thriftlodge Kingston 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To The Thriftlodge Kingston! For your upcoming visit to the area, choose the most comfortable, well-appointed of all the hotels in Kingston. Here you will find meeting and event space, all the amenities you want and so much more - choose us! Our Kingston Hotel's Amenities Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Complimentary High-Speed Internet Complimentary Parking Pet Friendly (up to 200 lbs) In-Room Dining Area In-Room Coffee and Tea Maker Mini-Refrigerator We are located near downtown Kingston, putting you in the best possible location for business, leisure or a bit of both. You'll find copious dining and shopping spots, as well as entertainment options for the entire family. The rooms and suites of The Thriftlodge are spacious, clean and perfect for your Kingston area stay. We also offer loft suites equipped with a fireplace for the relaxing Kingston hotel getaway you've imagined. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thriftlodge Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peachtree Hotel Kingston
Thriftlodge Kingston Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing