We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we were looking for” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thriftlodge Kingston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thriftlodge Kingston
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Vancouver
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

I travel for work and my desires in a hotel are fairly utilitarian. This fits the bill with some bonuses. We booked on Hotwire - first time doing this. So the hotel was only revealed after we'd booked and the room was whatever we were given.

What I loved: Large room - 2 beds, desk and table with chairs. Microwave and fridge (this was HUGE for us because I was traveling with someone with a medical condition and we never know if he'll feel well enough to venture out or need to hermit in our room). Hot water with plenty of pressure. Free wireless internet that worked well. Quiet - even though its on a major thoroughfare and there were plenty of other guests, we had a peaceful sleep. Cable TV (and the remote worked well! That's a rarity in my experience). Heater worked well and quickly (good for my spouse who is susceptible to cold). Free parking (not true of some of the downtown hotels). The price. Kingston is a fairly expensive place to stay. Our room was $69/night = $82 inc. all taxes (via hotwire).

What I liked (but didn't love): The continental breakfast was fine - fresh fruit salad was particularly a treat but the rest was pedestrian (I prefer when there are yogurt and boiled eggs rather than only bread and cereal products). Location - in a strip mall with other strip malls nearby. It's a bit of a longish walk to downtown (about 2 km) - but there are grocery stores, a couple restaurants, Cdn Tire, banks and the best coffee in Kingston (Eco...not the one near the University, the one near Kingston Centre at this location) within easy walking distance.

What I didn't care about but you might: the carpet is stained - but the room was very clean. Dated decor (but all rooms look the same behind eyelids). Old skool although reasonably sized TV.

What I didn't like: the bathroom fan was loud - but once I had a shower and the place steamed up substantially, I can see why having an industrial fan would be a benefit.

The PeachTree Inn suited our needs and then some, so we immediately booked another night.

Room Tip: We had 221. The odd numbered rooms face the street - but we didn't have problems with noise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlateIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. We cannot please every person but we do try!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    79
    97
    41
    34
See reviews for
104
93
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed one night and were just looking for a reasonably cheap place to sleep - this fit the bill.
The check-in was prompt and friendly. The rooms, though a little tired/dated looking were spacious and clean on the surface, but I did notice that there were some set-in stains in the carpet as others have noted. Beds were reasonably comfortable. Service at check-out was also polite and friendly. This place is fine if you just want a place to sleep and don't need to be right downtown.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenjane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThriftlodgeManager, Front Office Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this review, September 1, 2016
Thank you so much for your review! We hope if you find yourself in the Kingston area, you'll visit us again soon! We have recently been re-branded to Thriftlogde Kingston and have joined the Wyndham Hotel Group. We are happy to have new staff on board, many updated/renovated rooms are now available and amenities have been updated. We hope you have a wonderful day from all the staff at Thriftlodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

the executive suite was very affordable and quite awesome.the hot tub and flat screen with full cable were such a bonus.very friendly staff made if perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philco68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThriftlodgeManager, Front Office Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this review, September 1, 2016
Thank you so much for your review! We hope if you find yourself in the Kingston area, you'll visit us again soon! We have recently been re-branded to Thriftlogde Kingston and have joined the Wyndham Hotel Group. We are happy to have new staff on board, many updated/renovated rooms are now available and amenities have been updated. We hope you have a wonderful day from all the staff at Thriftlodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We only stayed one night

Rooms BASIC but clean.

Staff very nice and helpful
But carpets are foul..........stained and dirty looking, such a shame, you get a complimentary breakfast which is nice, bagels/muffins.coffee/tea/cerreal and fruit, but when you walk in the breakg=fast room it is grotty looks like a training room - real tern off.

Such a shame as the staff go out of their way for you.

If they cleaned the place up it would be great velue for oney - as it was a one night stay not worth worrying about - but would not spend longer than one night (unless they spent some money in the place - it has potential)

No good - not bad - staff make it work staying

Rosie

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFrontOffice, Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for your review. We have just cleaned the carpet in the breakfast room in the last few days as it did get very dirty from spills. We have scheduled cleaning of the halls this week as we try not to inconvenience guests when it is really busy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We booked a room at the Peach Tree when a loved one was in critical condition in Kingston Hospital. We needed a place for family members to rest while we took shifts at the hospital. We found the staff to be very accommodating.
We were pleased to find out they had a discount for medical situations. As it turns out we did not stay the night but checked out early ( about 8 pm that evening ).To our surprise they waived the fee.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThriftlodgeManager, Front Office Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this review, September 1, 2016
Thank you so much for your review! We hope if you find yourself in the Kingston area, you'll visit us again soon! We have recently been re-branded to Thriftlogde Kingston and have joined the Wyndham Hotel Group. We are happy to have new staff on board, many updated/renovated rooms are now available and amenities have been updated. We hope you have a wonderful day from all the staff at Thriftlodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
214 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

A short stay for my husband at Kingston General Hospital brought us to The Peachtree Inn. We stayed three nights and although it is not fancy, our room was spacious and clean and well equipped room with frig and microwave and a table with comfortable chairs. The television was an older model however and we did advise the front desk that the mattress squeaked and it was ready for an update! The breakfast room is large and the variety of items offered was better than average. My praise however goes to the Inn's staff. They were very helpful and very caring as we went through some medical procedures while in Kingston.

Room Tip: They gave us a discount as we were staying there for medical appointments at local hospital
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marleyandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThriftlodgeManager, Front Office Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this review, September 1, 2016
Thank you so much for your review! We hope if you find yourself in the Kingston area, you'll visit us again soon! We have recently been re-branded to Thriftlogde Kingston and have joined the Wyndham Hotel Group. We are happy to have new staff on board, many updated/renovated rooms are now available and amenities have been updated. We hope you have a wonderful day from all the staff at Thriftlodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

My family was moving to Kingston and before we moved we stayed at many hotels here. The first one was the peach tree inn it was in a bad naborhought above a strip mall, the room it's self wasn't too bad, but the mini fright frozze every thing in it and when we asked if there was a pool the sad no but the YMCA across the street has good prices, two thing the YMCA was not a cross the street it was a km away down 2 very busy streets and they didn't have good prices.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbvia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThriftlodgeManager, Front Office Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this review, September 1, 2016
Thank you so much for your review! We hope if you find yourself in the Kingston area, you'll visit us again soon! We have recently been re-branded to Thriftlogde Kingston and have joined the Wyndham Hotel Group. We are happy to have new staff on board, many updated/renovated rooms are now available and amenities have been updated. We hope you have a wonderful day from all the staff at Thriftlodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thriftlodge Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thriftlodge Kingston

Property: Thriftlodge Kingston
Address: 1187 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E1, Canada (Formerly Peachtree Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thriftlodge Kingston 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To The Thriftlodge Kingston! For your upcoming visit to the area, choose the most comfortable, well-appointed of all the hotels in Kingston. Here you will find meeting and event space, all the amenities you want and so much more - choose us! Our Kingston Hotel's Amenities Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Complimentary High-Speed Internet Complimentary Parking Pet Friendly (up to 200 lbs) In-Room Dining Area In-Room Coffee and Tea Maker Mini-Refrigerator We are located near downtown Kingston, putting you in the best possible location for business, leisure or a bit of both. You'll find copious dining and shopping spots, as well as entertainment options for the entire family. The rooms and suites of The Thriftlodge are spacious, clean and perfect for your Kingston area stay. We also offer loft suites equipped with a fireplace for the relaxing Kingston hotel getaway you've imagined. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Thriftlodge Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peachtree Hotel Kingston
Thriftlodge Kingston Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing