We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor experience”
Review of Seven Oakes Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seven Oakes Motel
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor experience”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had called to reserve a room I was told ok and I gave them the dates of going and checking out. I was asked for my master card and I told them that I was paying cash but they need it to hold the room. I told them not to put it threw because I had not got a chance to pay it off and I was going to pay with cash. I gave them my card info. On Friday they called to see why I was not in and told them that I was coming in Saturday and leaving on Monday and I was told that is ok and when my wife and I gone in just to find out they gave my room away and called my wife and I liers because I gave them a false number for my home and master card. They tried to put the charge through on the room before we even got there, which I believe is not legal! They gave my room to some person that went on line looking for a room. If there was a way we would not even give this place one star!! The Lady working the front desk was rude and decided it was ok to yell at me! We took our business elsewhere and would suggest anyone else do the same! Tempted to call better business Bureau!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lecooney78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7OakesMotel, Manager at Seven Oakes Motel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hello,

You had given us a invalid credit card number to book the room. Every motel requires a valid credit card to hold the room. We did not charge this card. Any business can pre-authorize or check a credit card number. It is common sense and general business practice to do so.

You booked a room on June 28 & 29 2014. On June 27, we pre-authorized and checked the credit card which was shown to be invalid. Once again, every motel will check credit cards and it is general business practice to do so. We require a valid credit card to book the room. If you did not supply a valid credit card, your reservation is voided. We called you one day ahead and asked you to provide a valid card. You refused to do so, so we were obviously unable to reserve your room and unable to give you a confirmation number. You were told all of this on the phone.

On the 28th, you showed up anyways asking for your room. We told you again that we were unable to reserve the room because of your card.

We are sorry that you had a bad experience, but you refused to comply with our rules ... rules that are the same in every other motel and even every other reservation or booking. We were unable to hold your room, but we did not yell at you nor were we rude. You simply did not like the answer you were given.

Lloyd

Seven Oakes Motel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    103
    41
    25
    33
See reviews for
78
83
36
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Clean, inexpensive. Smallest bar of soap I have ever seen. Fridge. Coffee/tea making facility would have been good. Bring a kettle/mugs/coffee/tea. There is a Tim Horton's a 100 m away. Near to the 401 and 5 minutes into Kingston downtown.

Room Tip: The motel rooms are all off the road and so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikecooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I chance upon this motel in Kingston. We stayed there for one night and must say that we had a very good night sleep. The room was very clean and comfortable. Thank you very much Susie and Loy for your very good service! We will definitely stay in your place again and also recommend our friends too! Lee Philip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 285Lee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Well i would NOT recommend this place again I have posted pictures of the condtion we found in our room.We checked into room when there we turned air conditioner on n left for 8.5 hours,when we came back we couldnt get over the MUSTY smell in room.Then I went to crawl into bed at 2 am n found a bunch of black hair all over pillow thats a big turn off there so i went back outside till almost 4am then went into room switched pillows n crashed till 6:30 am i had to get some sleep had to drive an hour away.My sister was in other room n she couldnt sleep cause of musty smell she has allergies n her eyes were swelled rite up.So i spoke with Susie n told her i was not impressed with room told her what was goin on n i wanted half my money returned n she said no money returned caused we stayed in room like really 2 hours sleep. I would not RECOMMEND THIS PLACE OR STAY THERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maggie6524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Leitrim
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed here with my parents, we booked two separate rooms next door to each other. the rooms are very clean and set up nice, with a flat screen tv that has loads of channels - (my parents being in their 70's had the tv very loud, when I left their room and went next door into my room, it was silent; The rooms and so well insulated you can not hear next door at all.) The bed is amazingly comfy - I've stayed at the Sheraton and the Seven Oakes motel has better comfy beds.
The owners are very welcoming and helpful, I was in Kingston for an appointment and needed some documents hole punched and a taxi in the morning the owners gladly did that for me.
Right next door to the motel is a supermarket, which is great if you need some snacks and fresh fruit at good prices, also their is a under-counter fridge in the room to use.
The heating and cooling temp is controlled by each room and there was always instant hot water.
The location is great if you are taking the Via rail train or driving and the taxi prices in Kingston are very good too and I also like that you can order take out to your room.
I will definitely be staying again when visiting Kingston.

Room Tip: for me and my parents who enjoy smoking, they offer a few smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dig22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My son, daughter in law and myself rented two rooms, side by side at The 7 Oakes. Susie was and her husband are very gracious hosts and could not do enough for us. The rooms are VERY clean and the mattresses thick and luxurious. I climbed into bed and the sheets smelled freshly laundered, it was like crawling into my own bed at home. SHOPPING.. wow, I had forgotten my jacket at home and, lo and behold, there was a large wonderful shopping mall, within walking distance on a nice day, but it was dark and we were tired, so we drove. Plenty of shopping and dining places and a nearby Tim Hortons. With all of the things to do, the wonderful people to talk to, who could ask for anything more??? SEE YOU AGAIN SUSIE,,,,,,,,,,it was great meeting you. Your Friends from Windsor :)

Room Tip: This motel is VERY EASY to find from HWY 401. Call and talk to Susie, you will be treated like roya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PerkyPerky43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stay here every time we book a room in Kingston. The rooms are very clean and the staff is extremely friendly! We highly recommend this to everyone!! We will always choose this hotel in Kingston!! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Thriftlodge Kingston
#16 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Super 8 Kingston
#10 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunnyside
Econo Lodge City Centre
Econo Lodge City Centre
#25 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Comfort Inn Midtown
#20 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Oakes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Oakes Motel

Property: Seven Oakes Motel
Address: 2331 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3G1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Waterloo Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seven Oakes Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Seven Oakes Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Oakes Motel
Seven Oakes Hotel Kingston
Seven Oakes Kingston
Seven Oakes Motel Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing