We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great affordable place to stay when you visit Kinston”
Review of Seven Oakes Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seven Oakes Motel
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Visited Sept 1st and Sept 7-8.

This is a very nice motel, run by very nice people.

They call themselves "the personal touch motel" and it's true. Depending on the person, this can be seen as an advantage or as a disadvantage. If one is accustomed to large hotel/motel chains whose rooms and furniture are all absolutely identical to eachother, they might feel this motel is out of sorts. But in reality, I found this place to be very clean, the housekeeping and reception services to be just as good as at a more expensive motel, and the rooms overall comfortable, spacious and accomodating.

Amenities:
- medium-to-large sized television
- refridgerator
- air conditioning unit
- sink inside and outside of bathroom

The only thing I would have liked to see is a coffeepot or water kettle, but that's something I can live without. I recommend this as a place with good rates and as someplace that is within a ten minute's drive, but away from the noise and commotion, of the downtown Kingston area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 289 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

We just spent a night here on Sept. 1st 2012 and we were pleasantly supprised with the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness of the room, and the PRICE of the room. Our room was very clean, towels were a bit aged but clean none the less, and they soaked up the water off my skin as they were intended to do. These people crying about old furniture and sand paper towels need to quit crying and go rent a room for $300 somewhere instead of being cheap and paying $100. FOR THE MONEY our room was absolutely great and we WILL be returning on our next trip to Kingston.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

During my stay I was quoted one price and charged another, I was told I was wrong/lying, and charged this new price anyways. It appears this happens a lot!

This motel is just plain shabby, and there seems to be a language barrier in regards to communication.

I felt very defeated by all of the above mentioned, and headed home a day early.

The floor of the pool is cratered concrete and the crevaces are brown...lined with dirt, you could easily cut your foot. There was a rotten grape in my sink, I killed an ant, the towels are like sand paper, the floor was dirty, and although the mattresses were new, NO TOP SHEET!

The customer is always right simply does not apply at this establishment, overall... A disappointment

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thriftytrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

When I called to book she assured me a "special rate for you". $99.00 a night for a jacuzzi suite....

Upon arrival she lost my reservations, I had to wait 45 minutes for my room and the price was jacked up to $119.00!

Should have turned around there, but in we went. Here's a list of the Rooms finest points:
Thick white film over tiled floor
Ancient jelly bean under desk
Missing lightbulbs
No fitted sheets, flat sheet instead ( woke up on the filthy mattress)
Dirty mirrors
0.5 ply toilet paper
Dirty light switch covers/lampshades
Cigarette holes in bedding

The pool was dirty, and I mean dirty. We didnt swim, and that was something I was really looking forward to.

It's far removed from the city centre, but close to the mall.

Hated it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLBHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7OakesMotel, Manager at Seven Oakes Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Hello JLBHES,

It appears that you have made a mistake. We never rent any Jacuzzi rooms for $99. Our lowest price for a Jacuzzi, during any season, is $119. We also did not lose your reservation. When you arrived at the office, we allowed you to check in right away. You did not have to wait 45 minutes.

As to concerns over the mattress and the pool, our beds are brand new. We have recently replaced the majority of our mattresses. Our pool is also very clean. During the summer, a lot of people were very happy with our pool.

We're sorry to hear your stay was not pleasant.

Seven Oakes Motel
The manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I book in at 11:30pm unannouced and they had a room and gave me room 51. It was an excellent clean room , I had a peacful sleep very quite. It had 2 comfortable chairs and a nice table and fridge if I were staying longer it would have been very useful. the owner was very nice and very helpful. If i am in Kingston again I will request room 51. The price was very reasonable for this time of year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alten777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

One of the WORST experiences of my 60 years of experience travelling throughout Europe, the Middle and Africa!

Cigarette burns on carpets that were strangely damp, unrelenting running toilets (in both bathrooms), non-functional light in one bathroom, paper thin towels and toilet paper – not sure which was thicker!

Bathtub wouldn’t drain so wife showered in dirty water.

GIVE THIS PLACE A PASS!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marni93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

this hotel is very dated ... and the furniture is all beat up and the walls are very dirty.
it could improve a lot with a coat of paint and some new furniture.
the rads are all rusty and could easily be fixed up .
the beds seemed clean though .. which is a plus
the staff are very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OntarioJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
6.1 mi away
Super 8 Kingston
Super 8 Kingston
#12 of 37 in Kingston
223 reviews
1 mi away
Comfort Inn Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown
#23 of 37 in Kingston
157 reviews
1.9 mi away
Motel 6 Kingston
Motel 6 Kingston
#9 of 37 in Kingston
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 37 in Kingston
139 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Kingston LaSalle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Oakes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Oakes Motel

Address: 2331 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3G1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Waterloo Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: $57 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Seven Oakes Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seven Oakes Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Oakes Hotel Kingston
7 Oakes Motel
Seven Oakes Kingston
Seven Oakes Motel Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing