We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time visit...will certainly return”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red House

Red House
Ranked #38 of 428 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Red House is a locally owned up-scale bar and gastropub specializing in regionally sourced ingredients on the menu and serving distinct craft beers. Being known for excellent food and a welcoming atmosphere, Red House continues to deliver a unique dining and beverage experience in Kingston. Guests can expect the fun and prices of a local pub, the ambiance of a rustic cocktail bar and product quality of a high-end eatery.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First time visit...will certainly return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

went to a friends birthday night. Decided to go early and try dinner with a few friends. All our food was hot, very tasty and prices were excellent. They tease you with great menu specials on facebook too. We will definitely be returning soon

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank threehaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    87
    28
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great pub with great menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great decor, central to downtown. Service is quick and efficient. The food is not what you would expect from a pub. The food is expertly cooked and the options are very eclectic and delicious. Beer and food specials every day.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AllanBeautifulPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice stop between Montreal and Toronto!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

After leaving Montreal today and having had great dining experiences there, we wanted to have lunch around the middle of our trip to Toronto. Enter the Red House in Kingston! Construction was underway on King Street, but the workers actually escorted us to the restaurant! We decided to try poutine (Potatoes (in this case, fries) with beef gravy and cheese curds) for the first time, and... delicious! Everything was freshly made, including the gravy!! We then had the short rib stew - perfect for this blustery day! If you get the chance, stop in - and when it's a tad warmer, explore Kingston! It's right on the lake and has beautiful views!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RockyMtnBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
289 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A cheerful place for drinks and dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

When we go we sit in the back because it's more quiet. The place is cheerful, always packed with larger groups because the layout and setting allows that, so it's full of laughter and happy people. Food is very decent for pub fare. I especially like to limestone walls and wood, this speaks Kingstonian a lot! A place worth going to regularly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank France-Pellicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“BEST BURG IN K-TOWN BY FAR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The burger is great. Fresh ground, cooked to medium. Buttermilk chicken sandwich is also wonderful. Lots of beers to choose from. Best burger in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthonyfattony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red House also viewed

 

Been to Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing