We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“go several times a month will miss it when i move” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Star Diner

The Star Diner
Ranked #93 of 424 Restaurants in Kingston
Cuisines: Diner, Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
497 reviews
454 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“go several times a month will miss it when i move”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

diner is great for breakfast.///good food....service quick, attentive many coffee refills,,after a while they know what you order...I enjoy reading the paper while waiting for my order..staff is friendly ,,what elae could you ask for?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thephoenixrisesagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
MONTCLAIR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Diner Breakfast Experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Now this is a diner! Friendly and fast workers. Friendly patrons. Great breakfast at decent prices. Hard to find as there are no very prominent signs from the road.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've been frequenting The Star Diner for about 5/6 years now. I have to agree with "parttimemodel" in that the diner has a nostalgic authenticity to it. When you walk in you'll see the old-style counter with counter stools, but you'll also see booths along the wall as well (the only thing missing are those little juke boxes). One of the owners decorated the walls with famous movie starts from 'back in the day.' Marylin Munroe photos are all over the place along with Audry Hepburn, Garry Cooper, Sophia Loren, etc. The breakfast is outstanding. Best home fries in the city. The lunch menu is traditional Canadian, but it also boasts the "belly buster haddock" which is excellent. The mood in the diner is always upbeat and cheerful as are the staff. In short, the atmopshere is a direct reflection of the personality to one of the owners, Ida-May. It's extremely affordable and it's extremely good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RWL1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“authentic diner feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I find everything at this restaurant reasonable. It is clean, albeit worn from the hoards of regulars no doubt, and comfortable. The menu has a variety of options, including several seafood items (deep fried). The staff remember you and are prompt, accessible, check on you lots, friendly, and hard workers. The food tastes good. I can not complain about the portions. The best milkshake I've tried for a 10 mile radius - vanilla, chocolate or chocolate/peanut butter. It is diner fare - not the healthiest, leanest or vegetarianest - but I do like that slice of watermelon that comes with my eggs.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank parttimemodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant for What it is”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We have been visiting this place for about four years, after experiencing sullen servers in other places. This is a classic homey place. Standard fare, especially if you are looking for a quick breakfast out. The big thing about this place is that they are really friendly along with the good food. The owners and staff greet everyone, and they remember your name when you come back. "Where everyone knows your name."

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank lotsaplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Star Diner also viewed

 

Been to The Star Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing