We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely family owned”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taj Curry House

Taj Curry House
Ranked #94 of 428 Restaurants in Kingston
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely family owned”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a sweet spot to pop in to for lunch downtown. The waitress is always very helpful and pleasant. I have tried a few different dishes and they have all been excellent. Portions are generous and make wonderful leftovers. Price is reasonable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NJD613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    5
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
289 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Very decent family owned”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a place ideally located, right in the heart of downtown on Princess Street, that is run by a young couple. The food is good, portions are generous and service is prompt. This is a smallish locale, simply decorated but evocative of the sub-continent with soft background and appropriate music. Food is good, not fine cuisine, but very decent. It's well worth regular visits and for those questioning the price, think of how much the commercial rents are right on Princess Street... I think that we must support the small independent places like the Taj, otherwise Kingston would look just like your average mall inside out...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank France-Pellicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-state NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Lot to Like!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went to dinner At Taj Curry House before going across the street to the Screening Room for a film.

We ordered the Lamb Madras and Chicken Korma and shared an Onion Bhaji appetizer. With rice, nan and a single order of tea, the bill with tip was about $50.

That's not nothing, and brings the bill into Curry Original territory, where the "atmosphere" is much more sophisticated.

The food was terrific. I liked the madras a great deal. The chicken korma was judged to be not quite as good as at El Asador, but still lovely.

The husband and wife team that run the restaurant are compelling.

As long as you understand that this isn't a divey place with rock bottom prices, you'll really enjoy your dining experience here.

It's hard to beat its proximity to the Screening Room. Great dinner. Lovely movie. A very nice evening. We will be going back periodically.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adirondax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Vegan spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife went for few hours over the border. We stopped in a local shop to pick up few treats ( pickled Doritos ) lol my wife choices. We had not eating lunch and we inquired with local where can vegan eat. The sitting area was intimate. The mixed vegetable special was great. Will be back if in town

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mystjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good, but not great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

A decent meal, but nothing overly exceptional. Service was pretty decent, everyone was very friendly. The meal was very pleasant. A decent place to go when you're in that kind of mood, and probably the best Indian food in town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fllnthblnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Curry House also viewed

 

Been to Taj Curry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing