We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting...but there are better places to learn more”

Rideau Canal - Jones Falls Defensible Lockmasters House
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Interesting...but there are better places to learn more”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We traveled up the Rideau this summer and had a great time and learned a lot about the history. There area a number of museums along the way. The Jones Falls Lockmaster House can only be seem from the outside so there is not much there. To really understand the history and see what the buildings were like you are better off going to the Rideau Canal Museum in Smiths Falls and/or the museum at Merrickville. There is also a nice house museum at Chaffeys Lock which is worth a looksee.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    15
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Watch centuries old technology still being used today”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A short drive from downtown Kingston offers a great picnic spot where you can read about the Rideau lock system and best of all, watch the parks staff open and close the manually operated locks - yup, the same technology used over a century ago enthralled everyone in our group from age 9 to 70! This is an example of all there is to see when we take the time to enjoy the journey instead of racing along the 401 between our destinations and I'd highly recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Having seen the Rideau Canal in Ottawa we decided to see the other end of the canal in Kingston. Set in beautiful countryside it was a great place to walk and relax.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevfins13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely way to spend a couple of hours”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I found watching the boats travelling through the locks to be very interesting. I had never seen a working lock before, so it was great to be able to view it right up close. The Poutine at the nearby cafe was also excellent!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather0664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the Rideau's Gems”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Jones Falls has to be one of the most fascinating and beautiful lock sites on the entire Rideau Canal. There are four locks, and a wonderful crescent shaped dam - an engilneering marvel on its own. The lockmaster's house is very interesting - a glimpse into a unique lifestyle from the past. There is a lovely inn nearby which serves delicious meals.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Painter516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rideau Canal - Jones Falls Defensible Lockmasters House also viewed

 

Been to Rideau Canal - Jones Falls Defensible Lockmasters House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing