We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn out motel and pretty grungy: cheerful front desk staff”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thriftlodge Motel Kingston West
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worn out motel and pretty grungy: cheerful front desk staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

We reserved a room in this motel because it was close to Costco and it was only for one night. The price was quite low, and the staff at the front desk were extremely cheerful and helpful. However this place needs either a massive renovation, or the services of a bulldozer. The piece of land is huge and very nice, so I imagine very valuable in a rising market. Sadly, the rooms were just plain worn out! Wrinkled stained carpets that make you want to avoid bare feet, scars and missing paint from the woodwork, old and maybe mal-functioning air conditioner, and so on. Certainly we would never stay at this place again, at any price. I repeat, the only good thing was the front desk employee.

Room Tip: Stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crossesfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    0
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

I was taking my son to university and needed a place to stay for a couple of nights. We were looking for a decent place, but did not want to pay too much. After checking out a few of the surrounding motels, we settled on this one because it definitely offered the nicest and cleanest rooms, while also being a good value. I'm not too sure about the other reviews, because we found the place to be very pleasant and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Great Value
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeHibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock,ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2008

As soon as I entered the lobby I knew it would be awful!!! The musty dirty smell was terrible. I had no choice but to stay here, as there was a big soccer tournament in town, and all the other hotels and motels were full. I paid $99.00 a night for this inhospital place. The rooms were filthy, dirty carpets, dirty walls, broken fridges, dust everywhere and the bathrooms were disgusting, and disgusting in an under statement. The bath was filthy, the tiles were black with mould and the towels were torn and ratty. The TV didnt work and we got a wake-up call at 6am without asking for one. I would never ever recommend this motel

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britty43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeybB, Co Manager at Thriftlodge Motel Kingston West, responded to this review, August 19, 2008
Yes, our City had every hotel and motel filled to capacity on this soccer weekend.
We always try our best to place our guests where we feel they would be comfortable, unfortunatley, these guests were placed between 2 soccer families. Sometimes when you mix tourist and sports teams together there are some problems. Our motel doesn't tolerate gatherings after 11:00pm. We do allow afternoon and early evening socializing. We do regret our error in judgement on this occasion

In our 2 years in this position we have never had a complaint about a musty smell in our front office or the fact that the office was not clean. Our main focus, since our takeover has been ensuring clean room, reasonable rates, personal and friendley service.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2004

Stayed here and it was OK at best. The room was clean but very much in need of renovation. Showed up without a reservation on a last minute trip and was given a rate or $79, asked if they had a CAA rate (I knew they were not affiliated but thought it was worth a try) and they gave me 10% off but that was still too high. Would look elsewhere next time.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
3.3 mi away
Ramada Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.7 mi away
Motel 6 Kingston
Motel 6 Kingston
#9 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Green Acres Inn
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Kingston LaSalle Hotel
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thriftlodge Motel Kingston West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thriftlodge Motel Kingston West

Property: Thriftlodge Motel Kingston West
Address: 2467 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3G1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Waterloo Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thriftlodge Motel Kingston West 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Thriftlodge Motel Kingston West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thrift Lodge Kingston
Thriftlodge Kingston
Kingston Thrift Lodge
Kingston Thriftlodge
Thriftlodge Motel Kingston West Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing