We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean and cheap. Good for an overnight.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston Motel East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingston Motel East
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean and cheap. Good for an overnight.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Not a lot of water pressure in the shower if you have long hair to rinse but if you are young enough you can rinse easily under the tap. Would have liked to know where there was coffee or food as there is no mention of it in the rooms. Maybe the management could just add a printed welcome sheet or something to let us know there is a Tim's just on the other side of the highway and maybe seeing this here will help you. :)
A little dated but it was clean and had dead bolts on the doors. Got what you'd expect for the price.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    9
    3
    8
See reviews for
9
13
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This place is for someone frugal who is in transit over Kingston. Very basic place, seems somewhat run down. But cheap, and OK for night or so. Anyway, Kingston is not a touristy place and most won't usually require to stay longer. Good to carry for food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
Helpful?
Thank aviray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Room door lock sticks, room is too dark, toilet plugs, shower doesn't work, couldn't login to wireless, coat rack fell off the wall, heater doesn't work, rear window opening mechanism broken. Didn't try the tv. I should have known something was up when I had to pay for the entire stay in advance. I won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rossintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Well, some of the reviews were negative reviews but I suspect that it comes from folks that expect staff to wipe their butts but I liked the place and thought the motel was clean and cheap. What more do you need?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tazmanwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here on my way through Kingston. It is conveniently located just off the 401 at the highway 15 exit. Nice room with kitchenette and comfortable king bed for $69. Would definitely recommend for a quick stay or if you're in the area for work for a little while. Just download the road from the military base in Kingston.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GVader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We arrived Kingston to discover that all hotels in Kingston were fully booked, as we headed onto motorway to find a place to stay we spotted the Motel.

The gentleman who owned it was very friendly and accommodated us immediately.

Rooms are big, spacious, spotlessly clean and have everything you would need.

We were even given advice and help on finding somewhere to eat, which was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnprior
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Arrived early, staff was ready for us, room (double bed) was clean, comfortable and the air conditioning was "on" (temp that morning was in 90's). Staff recommended close eating establishments as well as free delivery of chinese food. We opted for the Chinese. It was great!.
Summary - Staff were most helpful, outgoing, and pleasant, The room was terrific (cable, fridge, and did I mention the air conditioning!.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Rooms 20 - 25 are close to the office (ice) and coffee
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielLynch1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Thriftlodge Kingston
#27 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Motel 6 Kingston
#8 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
First Canada Inns
#34 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunnyside
Econo Lodge City Centre
Econo Lodge City Centre
#26 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Comfort Inn Midtown
#23 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Hilltop Motel
#15 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Motel East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Motel East

Property: Kingston Motel East
Address: 1488 Highway 15, Kingston, Ontario K7L 4V3, Canada (Formerly Thriftlodge)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kingston Motel East 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located outside of town, on a quiet road. we are only minutes to town in any direction. We have lots of museums, restaurants, gas stations, coffee shops with in minutes from motel. If you are looking to be close to the city without being in the city we have what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kingston Motel East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thriftlodge Kingston
Thrift Lodge Kingston
Kingston Thriftlodge
Kingston Thrift Lodge
Kingston Motel East Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing