We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Works”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kingston Motel East
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing Works”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Room door lock sticks, room is too dark, toilet plugs, shower doesn't work, couldn't login to wireless, coat rack fell off the wall, heater doesn't work, rear window opening mechanism broken. Didn't try the tv. I should have known something was up when I had to pay for the entire stay in advance. I won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
11
14
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Well, some of the reviews were negative reviews but I suspect that it comes from folks that expect staff to wipe their butts but I liked the place and thought the motel was clean and cheap. What more do you need?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tazmanwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here on my way through Kingston. It is conveniently located just off the 401 at the highway 15 exit. Nice room with kitchenette and comfortable king bed for $69. Would definitely recommend for a quick stay or if you're in the area for work for a little while. Just download the road from the military base in Kingston.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GVader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We arrived Kingston to discover that all hotels in Kingston were fully booked, as we headed onto motorway to find a place to stay we spotted the Motel.

The gentleman who owned it was very friendly and accommodated us immediately.

Rooms are big, spacious, spotlessly clean and have everything you would need.

We were even given advice and help on finding somewhere to eat, which was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnprior
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Arrived early, staff was ready for us, room (double bed) was clean, comfortable and the air conditioning was "on" (temp that morning was in 90's). Staff recommended close eating establishments as well as free delivery of chinese food. We opted for the Chinese. It was great!.
Summary - Staff were most helpful, outgoing, and pleasant, The room was terrific (cable, fridge, and did I mention the air conditioning!.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Rooms 20 - 25 are close to the office (ice) and coffee
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielLynch1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
333 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 734 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Clean bathroom and comfortable bed.
Carpet and furnishings are showing their age and need to be replaced. The kitchenette is ancient. Air-conditioning was loud and totally ineffective.
Would not recommend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pgbDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We got to Kingston Motel East an hour before the check in and Bob, the manager, had no problem with us going to our room right away. Staff there was extremely friendly and we were surprised with the great furniture in our room and how comfortable our bed was! Everything was extremely clean and organized. The cable service works perfectly and we had as many channel options as we have home, which was pretty amazing for a simple average motel. Location is good, you can be down town in 10 minutes.

We didn't like the fact that we had a kitchen in our room but no cutlery or plates. How are we supposed to enjoy our kitchen if no kitchen utensils are provided? That was kinda weird. But, overall, we liked our stay at the Kingston East Motel very much and will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Room #6 has a small kitchen, no cutlery or plates though
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Thriftlodge Kingston
#16 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Super 8 Kingston
#10 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Motel 6 Kingston
#9 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Midtown
#20 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Sunnyside
Econo Lodge City Centre
Econo Lodge City Centre
#26 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Motel East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Motel East

Property: Kingston Motel East
Address: 1488 Highway 15, Kingston, Ontario K7L 4V3, Canada (Formerly Thriftlodge)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kingston Motel East 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located outside of town, on a quiet road. we are only minutes to town in any direction. We have lots of museums, restaurants, gas stations, coffee shops with in minutes from motel. If you are looking to be close to the city without being in the city we have what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kingston Motel East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thriftlodge Kingston
Thrift Lodge Kingston
Kingston Thrift Lodge
Kingston Thriftlodge
Kingston Motel East Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing