We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kingston Motel East
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 821 helpful votes
“Dated”
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Clean bathroom and comfortable bed.
Carpet and furnishings are showing their age and need to be replaced. The kitchenette is ancient. Air-conditioning was loud and totally ineffective.
Would not recommend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pgbDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
12
15
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We got to Kingston Motel East an hour before the check in and Bob, the manager, had no problem with us going to our room right away. Staff there was extremely friendly and we were surprised with the great furniture in our room and how comfortable our bed was! Everything was extremely clean and organized. The cable service works perfectly and we had as many channel options as we have home, which was pretty amazing for a simple average motel. Location is good, you can be down town in 10 minutes.

We didn't like the fact that we had a kitchen in our room but no cutlery or plates. How are we supposed to enjoy our kitchen if no kitchen utensils are provided? That was kinda weird. But, overall, we liked our stay at the Kingston East Motel very much and will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Room #6 has a small kitchen, no cutlery or plates though
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with a modern room with the furniture and appliances in good condition. Nothing was old, shabby or smelly, which would be typical of an average motel. The bedding and towels were impeccably clean. We stayed overnight and felt rested and re-energized in the morning. The location is also great - 2 min off the 401.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia_X193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My son and I stayed here for one night as we needed to be at a nearby marina early the following morning for a SCUBA diving excursion. We stayed in a room with two double beds and a small kitchenette. The place was perfectly adequate to rest your head for a night, though the bedding and furnishings were quite well worn. Not the Ritz, but I'll probably stay again the next time I'm looking for a clean, quiet, budget hotel in the Kingston area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We decided to start our drive back to Toronto from Cornwall through New York.
After doing some sight-seeing and shopping in the States, we decided to enter back into Canada near Gananoque and continue along the 401. Being Canada Day and starting to feel our day tripping we decided to stop in Kingston to see the fireworks and spend the night.
By the downtown Kingston harbor waterfront where the fireworks were being displayed we found a large chain hotel – the last room (of course) at 9 pm was $249.99 for 2 persons for one night! I didn’t ask about taxes or parking!
We drove back to find the motel that we had passed on Highway 15 just after we got off the 401 to go south to Kingston.
We saw the sign for Kingston Motel East and pulled in. The gentleman on the front desk was the owner. He said the rooms were not updated and modern but they were clean. He gladly allowed us to check the room first and he was right - and so was the price!
We were not there long enough to use it but the room also had a small kitchenette area with a fridge, 2-burner hot plate, a sink and counter space. There was an outdoor pool at the front of the motel but we did not have swim suits with us.
The taxi that the owner called for us was very prompt and got us down to the downtown harbor (about 10 minute drive) to see the fireworks with time to spare.
(Both taxi drivers to and from the fireworks were very friendly.)
We enjoyed the fireworks then stopped for a beer at an outdoor patio by the harbor.
Even with the jug of draft that we enjoyed on the patio at the bar by the harbor and taxi rides to the fireworks and back to the motel it was still A LOT cheaper than the large chain motel. It also was quieter, closer to the 401 and our vehicle was right outside the door (no lugging stuff up to our room at 9:15 pm from a parking lot across the street through crowds of people). We would stay at the Kingston Motel East again before we would stay at the large downtown chain hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed here overnight to attend a wedding and a function the following morning. Clean ordinary room. All was well until I tried to shower the next morning and discovered a broken shower head. Wife of owner told him the shower wouldn't stay on although I never gave any details. Owner told me " Things happen and it's just a minor inconvenience. You can still take a tub bath." I was tired , hungry and longing for my morning shower. When I suggested I should be compensated for said inconvenience he became angry and defensive. When I pushed the matter he angrily threw $20.00 at me with some harsh words. There seemed to be other vacancies that I could have stayed in .I found this quite unsettling. Later my nephew who works at the army base asked about recommending the motel to other out of town visitors .I said no I would not.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank majorflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Oswego, New York
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Decided to escape Harborfest in Oswego, Ny and go to Kingston, Ontario. Took the car ferry from Cape Vincent, Ny to Wolf Island, Ontario then another car ferry to Kingston. This is very fun and the ferry from Wolf Island to Kingston is free. It lands in downtown Kingston after about a 20 sail. The staff at this mom & pops style motel is very cordial while the rooms are small but very clean. There is a refrigerator and a microwave but no coffee maker. Also there is not a breakfast. Both a McDonald's and a Tim Horton's are about a 5 minute drive away. Downtown is about a 10 minute drive and as far as parking goes, I would suggest the parking garage at the corner of Brock and Wellington Streets. Here the cost of parking is as cheap as anywhere in the city. The first hour is free and each additional hour is one dollar. One word of caution though, be sure you have $2 and $1 Canadian coins available because if an attendant is not there to collect the money owed, you must insert the coins at the egress gate to be allowed out of the garage. We were there just shy of 6 hours and the attendant had gone for the night so we paid only the $3. This means that if you take one of the boat tours in the area, you can easily park and walk the two blocks to the boats. If you stay in the area is a short one, then plenty of pay to park meters are everywhere. Back to the motel. If you stay intown Kingston, you might pay as much as $250. If you want to be within 10 minutes by car, and not mortgage your home, I would recommend trying this motel. There really is nothing objectionable about it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmartibOswego_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Comfort Inn Midtown
#20 of 37 in Kingston
134 reviews
Motel 6 Kingston
#7 of 37 in Kingston
389 reviews
Sunnyside
No photo provided
Econo Lodge City Centre
#26 of 37 in Kingston
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Super 8 Kingston
#10 of 37 in Kingston
188 reviews
Thriftlodge Kingston
#16 of 37 in Kingston
321 reviews
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
#19 of 37 in Kingston
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Motel East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Motel East

Property: Kingston Motel East
Address: 1488 Highway 15, Kingston, Ontario K7L 4V3, Canada (Formerly Thriftlodge)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kingston Motel East 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located outside of town, on a quiet road. we are only minutes to town in any direction. We have lots of museums, restaurants, gas stations, coffee shops with in minutes from motel. If you are looking to be close to the city without being in the city we have what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kingston Motel East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thriftlodge Kingston
Thrift Lodge Kingston
Kingston Thrift Lodge
Kingston Thriftlodge
Kingston Motel East Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing